Thika Road BRT: exposing greedy government

[ATTACH=full]368269[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]368268[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]368270[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]368271[/ATTACH]

Hahahaha. We had to copy paste

Post yako ya Kwanza ya maana tangu nirudi huku.
Kujia Gibleys

Tuma Kwa ile number ya 0798

Nataka uje ndio nikulime ngumi moja ya kahasho Kwanza

Kule ulienda kwani umefukuzwa?

Hapana.
Ni huyu Chief bonoko hupenda kunitishia maisha Sana so I follow up on him.
Keep your friends close and your enemies closer

Inaitwa thinking after acting. Lasima pesa ikulwo kwa kandarasi

Cownty assembly tuko ngangari. Rudisha nyee senyet.

Enyewe hio BRT is technically misplace.
They should have concentrated on the service lanes. Wajenge an ultra modern stage huko kwa service lane, then they extend the overpass to the newly built stage.

Hii maneno ya kublock a whole lane of an already congested highway is simply foolish.
Otherwise utapata these BRT buses will bring in more traffic than the current buses

If consulted this is what i would have advised the govt. This is based on the uneducated, non-researched thoughts in my head.

• Build proper BRT infrastructure on the service lanes.
  • For any new upcoming road there should be a mandatory requirement to build BRT facilities. This is especially useful for roads in Nairobi metropolitan region including roads za huku estates.
  • Design the major BRT corridors e.g. thika road to have a cyclic route such that the buses dont have a terminus. Bus ikifika hapo parklands/Ngara it has a dedicated infrastructure where it will drop people as the other people board. The infrastructure is such that itazunguka and it wont find itself crossing a road or behind a traffic light waiting for its turn
  • Govt to introduce a maximum fee of 20 KSH for all BRT rides. Hakuna off peak or peak hours. Make it a flat fee of 20KSH
  • Make sure the buses are 16hours atleast. Every bus or every stage must have well armed security officers to prevent thiefs, vagabonds, hustlers, etc from kusumbua wananchi
  • The stages must also be strictly free from hawkers, mahindi choma, etc.

We are finishing the journey with Uhuru
Good progress in the much anticipated inception BRT project on Thika road with fabrication of stations ongoing, park and ride facilities, bus depots, command Centre all under construction.

Electric buses will be procured via a Public Private Partnership.
[ATTACH=full]368286[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]368287[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]368288[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]368289[/ATTACH]

If consulted this is what i would have advised the govt. This is based on the uneducated, non-researched thoughts in my head.

• Build proper BRT infrastructure on the service lanes.
  • For any new upcoming road there should be a mandatory requirement to build BRT facilities. This is especially useful for roads in Nairobi metropolitan region including roads za huku estates.
  • Design the major BRT corridors e.g. thika road to have a cyclic route such that the buses dont have a terminus. Bus ikifika hapo parklands/Ngara it has a dedicated infrastructure where it will drop people as the other people board. The infrastructure is such that itazunguka and it wont find itself crossing a road or behind a traffic light waiting for its turn
  • Govt to introduce a maximum fee of 20 KSH for all BRT rides. Hakuna off peak or peak hours. Make it a flat fee of 20KSH
  • Make sure the buses are 16hours atleast. Every bus or every stage must have well armed security officers to prevent thiefs, vagabonds, hustlers, etc from kusumbua wananchi
  • The stages must also be strictly free from hawkers, mahindi choma, etc.

And preachers too

Superhighway imekua reset back to pre-kibaki era, two lanes!

They will “eat” money installing that BRT infrastrcture and “eat” again to remove after a few months because the jam will be crazy. Kwanza hio Kenol-marua dual carriage ikiiishaa, thurakus will be going upcountry every week.

We already do that.
Saturday morning kutoka from Witeithie hua ngori Hadi kenol and the same thing tukirudi Sunday evening

The same case is going to be seen with Mombasa rd expressway. The initial four lane is going to be turned to a three lane (I dont think they have provisions for BRT and cycling lanes on those three lanes). So the extra traffic will just be transferred to the expressway and not much change will be seen and since only a few will be willing to pay for the expressway, the congestion on the three lanes will be even worse. And if many decide to go to the expressway to run away from the traffic on the lower lane, they will be caught up in traffic brought by stopping at the paypoints. You may wonder why with all the foreign travel the civil servants undertake, they cannot learn from the best out there and transfer it locally. Bure kabisa

Wouldn’t using the service lane as BRT cause more issues. For instance feeding the roads exiting or entering thika rd

Payment will be automated.
You don’t have to stop.

Mimi nikija hapo nakulima chuma ya kichwa ukufe