They Don't Make Them Like They Used To... And I Mean Everything

If you are old enough then you know this. Once in a while I find items that were made in the 70s and 80s and the quality of materials used back then were of the finest quality.

I recently went to shags nikapata hammer ya STANLEY, solid like an ox despite it having been in use since the late 1970s. The other day I went to Nyamakima looking for a Hacksaw Frame and I could only find flimsy brands.

Vitu kama extension sockets ndio Mchina anatumia very poor quality cables, seems like copper imekuwa rare metal Siku Hizi.

Hata DeVki na Doshi the quality of their metal rods and bars sio the same na chuma za 1980s.

China imetusaidia but at the same time wameflood African market with substandard goods.

long live Xi

The question is, why is China flooding Africa with substandard goods and not the Northern Hemisphere ?

NIABM and wewe msee uko na degree gushi. Kenya has KEBS, KRA, Anti-Counterfeit Agency and several other busybodies financed by the taxpayer. Why do we have substandard goods within our borders?

Even people are different nowadays. The older folk had so much character and class. They made high quality stuff. Maybe it’s the food they ate which wasn’t polluted like now or perhaps they received better parenting. I don’t want to think about how trashy things will be when Gen Z and below is in charge. The population is getting dumber and worse in every way.

Shida yetu ni kuimport everything. How complex is an extension socket? Kitu tu unadesign mold and then use injection Molding to mass produce. There are some substandard extensions made in Naivasha, it’s a step in the right direction.

Surely u expect KEBS, KRA etc to inspect quality of hardware. That’s why they don’t do anything. They are overworked. The only thing they should test for is pharmaceuticals. Anything else should be buyer seller agreements- trust. You sell me parts that are susceptible to breakage like a Audi, I avoid.

Kenya should enact a return policy on goods. If you sell me defective or substandard goods, i should return them and get a refund.
That will solve the issue of substandard goods in the market.

Why not just buy goods from credible sources. Buy something from a Walalo and it doesn’t work, they always take it back within reasonable time.

Return policy will work wonders, people in the interior and rural Kenya don’t have alot of choices. The thing is, you sell me a product , like a water heater, if it breaks within the warranty period, you replace it at no cost.
Then the retailer takes it back from where he sourced it, if he is the importer, he record losses.
That’s how you will end substandard goods within our borders.

People will simply purchase items use them temporarily and return. I buy a hammer, use it return it and say it’s defective. Law demands a refund.

how do you say it’s defective if it hasn’t broken down. the work shoes that i buy, Mainly CAT and Keen come with a 3 month warranty, of ‘if for any reason i don’t like them’.
Vendors in .ke will sell you defective products knowingly and you have no recourse. i once bought a fone charger in thika, the thing didn’t work, and when i took it back, receipt attached, i was told the sale was final.
that there was a violation of my human rights.

That’s why I told you to purchase things from credible sources. You get what you pay for.

Nilikwambia never engage me due to your intellectual dwarfism. The mere fact that what you have typed makes sense to you is enough proof that the 15+ years you spent in our learning institutions at great cost to your parents and the public were a total waste. Heri wazazi wangenunua ng’ombe and designate you kama mchungaji.

High IQ Magrepa. Hii ni public forum. As long as utaweka comment, nitakupata.

Saqa but put in a little thought ukinijibu. One way ni ufikirie ile kitu unataka kuniambia ukiwa sober then enda kunywa busaa halafu ufikirie tena. It has to make sense both ukiwa sober na ukiwa mlevi.

Ubaya you are very unexposed.
Do you know that in advanced countries they don’t really test much. But hold manufacturers to standard only if something harms a consumer.

Bought wire mesh to add to expand the kitchen garden area, the one I bought last year I can snip with a pair of pliers but the one that has been there for over 20 years I need a hacksaw blade to cut

It’s the nature of the current times, if for instance a phone maker makes a perfect phone that doesn’t malfunction easily it will cost more and people will buy less of it.