The World Is More Interested Than Usual In The U.S. Midterm Elections. Here's Why

https://media.npr.org/assets/img/2018/11/02/ap_18233501318343-56bf46c980a1cff03f02bbf8f9eb6b5e293f9d0c-s700-c85.jpg
[SIZE=2]No matter which party makes a strong showing this Tuesday, the ramifications of the midterms will be felt around the world.[/SIZE]
Carolyn Kaster/AP

Under normal circumstances, America’s midterm elections tend to elicit shrugs outside the U.S. The world usually focuses on U.S. elections when the president’s name is on the ballot. But if you’re an American overseas these days, you may be quizzed on what will happen in Tuesday’s midterms.

Leslie Vinjamuri, an American political scientist who has lived in London for more than a dozen years, says in the run-up to this year’s midterms, she has been getting questions every day.

https://media.npr.org/assets/img/2018/10/31/gettyimages-974323074_sq-86948ba36a45648f6813632f4ae09a61f6278565-s700-c85.jpg

[SIZE=5]POLITICS[/SIZE]
[SIZE=5]Here’s Why Democrats Are Confident They’ll Win The House[/SIZE]

"Everybody in the private sector is very interested," says Vinjamuri, who runs the U.S. and the Americas program at Chatham House, the London think tank.

That is true beyond the U.K. as well. Some countries that hoped for the election of Donald Trump two years ago are now wishing they hadn’t, and are rooting instead for a strong Democratic showing. China, in particular, has a lot riding on the midterms. Other countries, such as India, are less invested in the outcome of this election season. But no matter which party comes out on top Tuesday, the ramifications of the midterms will be felt around the world.

https://media.npr.org/assets/img/2018/10/29/gettyimages-1052854270_sq-51b8b285e0a95d00cb43987f184beb97299fc290-s700-c85.jpg
[SIZE=5]NATIONAL[/SIZE]
[SIZE=5]In Governors’ Elections This Year, Republicans Have A Lot To Lose[/SIZE]

In Western Europe, many people’s interest in the midterms is fueled by a deep concern that President Trump seems to be turning his back on the trans-Atlantic Alliance — the collection of Western democracies and traditional American allies, including the United Kingdom and Germany. Among London’s intelligentsia, many want American voters to return at least the House of Representatives to the Democrats, Vinjamuri says, to try to check Trump’s power.

This midterm elections is a referendum on Trump. If Dems win Trump is fucked.

@Amused uwoga ni ya nini. Kwani uko huko murica illegally. Kama hauna marakatasi jipange mapema uncle Don is coming for you.

I think it’s going to be dangerous for anybody who is not white if democrats win. The neo nazi have been on the rise and this might be the straw that broke the Arab’s back

Not to brag but I can live any country I want.

Hakuna hiyo. It is very vital now for the USA to regain a semblance of balance and push the brown-shirts back into the burrows from whence they emerged, urged on by Orange-face. Unaogopa neo-nazi’s aje?

They won’t win. At best, they might take control of the House lakini Senate iko na Republicans.
This midterm election is a referendum on low taxes, immigration, fair trade and most importantly nationalism.

Napenda vile unataja hiyo word carelessly, if it goes full throttle immigrants mtaumia

Trump is a rebellious hard to pin leader. In my opinion, as I have said before, he is not fit for the job he’s holding. Mine and my wife’s are only two votes already cast against him. But does it matter? Patco and Purple will say a resounding No. Amused and Natty will say Yes.

Conventional wisdom has the US heading for a split decision in this midterm elections with Democrats taking the House and Republicans expanding their margin in the Senate. This prediction is in line with the minds of voters with wins and losses for both sides. However, if the Republicans win both chambers, then it will be a victory for the economic and immigration policies of the president. If the Democrats win both, it will be a defeat for the president on his personal fitness for office and health care policies. It is up to the voters now to send the politicians their message.

Immigration is a divisive issue that both ignites Trump supporters and his opposition, while reinforcing all his negative personal qualities. On virtually every poll on presidential personal characteristic, Trump receives the worst ratings … A majority at 58 percent say the president is “vulgar” and only 23 percent say he is a good role model for children. Only 31 percent say Trump sets the right tone for the nation. An overwhelming 88 percent of voters said they wish he would tweet less. Only 27 percent see him as earning the respect of those people who did not vote for him, so these negative perceptions extend even to those people who support Trump and approve of the job he is doing as president. In swing areas, he is likely winning that issue while losing it on the coasts. The economy is now a clear victory and concerns about personality are a clear defeat. This all makes for confusion, which is why many polls are so close.

Ummm. I think you mean Republicans. Hao ndio Right-ists.

lakini England huwes, Tata.jpg

Don’t those guys have all kinds of guns?

Democrats going down as usual. Hii kijana amused atatolewa kazini cnn arudishwe nyumbani na makaratasi yake ya river road