Every single detail of the world summed up in a 3 minute animation.
Hata kama we won’t watch just upload more of these
Nimeona slay queen anachuja wasee
Hiyo design ni Tinder mpya ama?
Mpaka Vera sidika ako ndani na mkia
As much as I agree with the premise of this video, such hot takes on modern society oversimplify and ignore a lot of crucial points. It’s always ‘smartphone bad, internet bad, social media bad’ yet its not that simple. Civilization has its drawbacks for sure but overall things have gotten better with time. We tend to wear rose-tinted glasses when looking at the past. We imagine those were the ‘good old days’ when people weren’t so materialistic and insular and immoral but that’s a fallacy. There is no ‘golden age’ when everything was good and pure and perfect and we all just got along. Humans have always been greedy and self-serving and they will always be that way until our species goes extinct.
Just a few centuries ago the richest guy in your village could simply walk into your homestead then order you to give him all your possessions and work on his farm and you couldn’t do shit about it because he has more spears and more cattle than you do. He could force every able-bodied man to swear an oath to serve him till death. He could conscript your teenage sons to fight and die in a skirmish with his rivals. He could wink at your 13 year old daughter and she’d have to spread her legs for him or else. That was the real alpha male-beta male world, wachana na hii ya divorce rape na kukuliwa bibi by MGTOW battalion. Our great-great-great-great grandfathers would laugh at the problems men are faced with today because hao waliona moto.
In fact the quality of life for the average human is much, much better nowadays. For example our life expectancy has improved tremendously thanks to advances in our diet, lifestyle and healthcare. Nowadays we say life begins at 40, in precolonial Africa if you lived to see 40 wewe ni mzee because hunger, illness, conflict, wildlife, childbirth or sheer accident would end most people’s lives before they even reached their 20s. That’s why in all communities once a 12-13 year old went through a rite of passage he was considered a grown man. Tell me do you think the average Nandi or Kikuyu or Luo died with grey hair and wrinkles? They were lucky to make it to their 30s, that’s why truly old people were treated like national treasures by their communities. To survive 50+ years was like achieving immortality. Back then you go to take a shit in the bush unauliwa na simba and you’re only 18. Siku hizi mtu wa miaka 80+ anakufa hospitali tunasema ‘Gone too soon’.
There is a reason human beings developed organized societies and that was to give people like you and I a fighting chance. So yes there’s a lot of inequality and fuckery in the modern world but I can assure you, our ancestors envy many of the things that we take for granted today. Like anti-biotics. The internet. Motor vehicles. Phones. Lawyers. Surgeons. Name it.
President Gatheca included?