The verdict from the Council of Elders

[SIZE=6]‘Featherweight’ Joho can’t win against Uhuru - Mombasa elders
[/SIZE]
It is reckless for Governor Hassan Joho, a ‘featherweight’, to fight President Uhuru Kenyatta, Mombasa Council of Elders has said.

The elders, through chairman Mohamed Jahazi, said Joho should go slow in his political fight with the President.

“There will be a loss in the ring. It cannot happen that way. The featherweight will be knocked out. Let there be peace,” Jahazi said on Friday.

“We are not happy with the exchanges going on between governor and the head of state,” Jahazi said.

He said the two centres of power are not on the same level.

While endorsing Uhuru’s re-election bid, the council said Jubilee has done enough in its four years in power to warrant a second term.

“The position of head of state is very big. The governor position is among other 46 positions. We don’t see why there should any fight,” he added.

He said governor Joho should know where his powers begin and end, and stick to his lane.

"Our governor should go slow. He is still young and has a future in politics. He should not be reckless,"Jahazi said.

Vice chair Bishop Joseph Maisha said they are looking for ways to mediate between Uhuru and Joho as the war between them “is shameful to the country”.

“Our role is to advise and reconcile. We will see how we can talk to our governor and tell him how things go because we have to love one another and help each other,” he said.

Uhuru and Joho have been involved in a political fight centred around projects in Mombasa county.

Joho has on previous occasions told the President off for claiming that externally funded projects are part of Jubilee’s mandate.

Last week, the governor was barred from an event Uhuru was presiding over, after which Uhuru told Joho to stop following him around as though he is the governor’s “wife”.

“We don’t see what is big there. Everyone has his money. Everyone has his projects. Let them compete on projects,” Jahazi said on Friday.

But he noted that the President’s projects are “bigger” because they are more expensive and involve other counties.

“There is some bad advice that our governor is being given that his bravery can make him fight with the President,” he added.

Who are these ‘elders’ and where do they crawl from every time an election approaches? Who chose/appointed them or are they elders by virtue of their age? Are we listening to the real voices of the people or just some deranged lunatics sipping mnazi outside some dingy joint?

Lots of people are going to be crowned in various regions as elders in days to come. Wish @Wakanyama was here aweke mbisha ya TMT being crowned in cendro, ukambani and coast

I just don’t care! They just said what is music to my ears, and that’s all. I need no other argument!

Sijui how coasterians can vote this guy in for another term Niko huku for a while hometown and all but man this is worse than before…businesses most are closed.Education iko chini went yo my rpumary school…which was a top ranked naskia wanna issue na results za last year.Water is a joke to people here…so much downhill shit and hats hizi job at I za kuwash road ni wase unaona they are bieng taken advantage of

Welcome to Mombasa!

Kwanza coast kunakuwanga na very many sets oc Kaya elders na this is their time to reap

wananchi wako nyuma ya JOho , uncle Uwes niko nyuma ya president elect JOho