The Star: Henry Makori on Kikuyus

I wonder the reaction if it had been any other tribe. This guy is openly spewing hatred on a national newspaper. Na wame-disable comments.

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2018/02/05/kikuyu-power-the-bane-of-kenya_c1707280

Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu says his county should not elect “foreigners”. In the last election, a Luo and an Asian were elected to the county assembly.

In December, Kiambu county passed a motion requiring all employers to hire 70 per cent of their workers from the dominant community, the Kikuyu. Everyone knows the notorious insults and nativist jingoism of people like Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria and political analyst Mutahi Ngunyi. Let’s face it: Kikuyu ethnic chauvinism hinders national cohesion. It permeates the community’s collective imagination. That is why the Kurias, Waititus and Ngunyis are popular.

Here are 10 points to ponder:

President Jomo Kenyatta consolidated Kikuyu Power in his “fervent vision of the Gikuyu future”, according to the historian ES Atieno-Odhiambo. He writes:

“In the heyday of the Kenyatta regime, it was assumed that the people within the corridors of his power would speak Gikuyu. Shadrack Ojudo Kwassa, a Luo former Chief of Protocol, recalled the surprise of First Lady Mama Ngina Kenyatta at his inability to speak Gikuyu at an official encounter over tea one afternoon in Gatundu, President Kenyatta’s country fiefdom. He was out of the protocol office the following day, his job assigned to a more appropriate Mugikuyu, Daniel Gachukia.”

1. From 1968 there was massive oathing of Kikuyus to bind them to protect Uthamaki (the presidency). Atieno-Odhiambo reports: “truckloads of Agikuyu went voluntarily, or were coerced into going, to Gatundu, Kenyatta’s country seat, to take oaths to guarantee that the Kenya flag would never leave the House of Mumbi. Often the participants took the oath on a flag of Kenya spread on the ground.”

That oath has never been revoked, so it can be assumed to be still binding among the community.

1. In the 1970s, there was the ‘change the constitution’ movement spearheaded by Kikuyu supremacists such as Kihika Kimani and the ‘Kiambu Mafia’. They wanted to block Vice President Daniel Moi from automatically succeeding Kenyatta.

2. Kenya has had only four presidents since independence. Three of them are Kikuyu; two a father and his son. The current plan is to hand the presidency back to the Kalenjin in 2022 and then later back to the Kikuyu.

3. Some Kikuyus claim the community was isolated during Moi’s rule – the only non-Kikuyu president. But this is not true. Why then did Moi want to handover power back to the Kikuyu in 2002 by picking Uhuru Kenyatta as his successor? Moreover, Moi’s first three (out of a total of five) vice presidents were Kikuyu: Mwai Kibaki, Josephat Karanja and George Saitoti, the Maasai impostor. Some of the most powerful men of Moi’s regime were Kikuyu.

4. The Kikuyu chattering classes were very vocal against Moi. Suddenly, many of them went mum from the time Kibaki took power. Some have since boarded the ethnic gravy train or support it quietly. Former dissidents like Gibson Kamau Kuria, Paul Muite and Martha Karua come to mind.

5. Among the Kikuyu there has always been a progressive elite: the Bildad Kaggias, Timothy Njoyas, John Githongos, Maina Kiais, David Ndiis. These individuals have ended up being cursed and ostracized for resisting Uthamakism.

6. Kikuyu-owned or –controlled media outlets such as Kameme FM, The People, Nation, Citizen, etcetera unabashedly or subtly trumpet Kikuyu Power everyday.

7. There is the common retort that Uthamakism is an elite affair; that the majority of Kikuyus suffer like other Kenyans. Well, since the re-introduction of multiparty politics in Kenya in 1991, the Kikuyu have consistently voted for their own.

10.Jaramogi Oginga Odinga refused a British offer to take over Kenya’s leadership, insisting on the release of Kenyatta from prison. And Oginga’s son Raila in 2002 shelved his presidential ambition and declared support for Mwai Kibaki (Kibaki tosha!). The Kikuyu have never supported a presidential candidate from outside their community.

From Jomo, to Kibaki and now Uhuru, Kikuyus have held some of the most powerful positions in government. Kenya’s first broad-based government collapsed because Kikuyu oligarchs captured Kibaki, re-ethnicised state power and sidelined all the others in NARC coalition.

In his autobiography, Kibaki’s Vice President Moody Awori writes: “On days when we held the weekly Cabinet meetings at State House, I always went ahead of the rest of the Ministers to discuss with the President in his office matters that did not need to be brought to the Cabinet. On a number of occasions two powerful Ministers from Central Province would just barge into the President’s office while I was still there, greet the President and continue a conversation with him in Kikuyu. Kibaki would feel embarrassed and respond in English or sometimes in Kiswahili, but it did not deter the two Ministers. They would continue talking to him in Kikuyu”.

Kenyans need to discuss the issue of Kikuyu Power.

Henry Makori is a journalist in Nairobi.

For me it doesn’t matter from which tribe the president and cs comes from.As long they do their work as required.

@pamba leta summary ya huu upussu

I think this analysis is very level headed, though I disagree with some points.

How so?

There is no hate here. These are actual facts. should we all bury our heads in sand to make you happy?

Citizen is pro Gikuyu ?

Another butthurt article :D:D

For a start, who has criticised Waititu most for his stupid utterances? KIAMBUANS!

Nobody stops voters from electing non kikuyu presidents.

Well put Makori. The truth in plain words.

Especially yours truly, right here.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/‘baba-yao’-and-kiambu-county-jobs.63547/

Just to correct a few misconceptions:
a) Please understand that Kiambu Kikuyus are a section of Kikuyus not a representative of all the Kikuyu tribes. Their sins ought not be used to crucify other Kikuyu tribes. Even other Kikuyus know that Kiambu Kikuyus have a very bad weakness called greed and their hearts are what one would say ‘huwa hawana roho safi’.

b) Moi handing over power to Uhuru was not out of love for Kikuyus but repayment of a political debt that he owed the Kenyatta family. If he truly wanted to hand over power out of love for Kikuyus he would have given it to Kibaki. Matiba was already off mentally that is.

c) Very many Kikuyus were against the oath taking and some lost their lives for refusing to be involved in nonesense. The writer should try and read Ngugi wa Thiong’o’s book on this ‘petals of blood’ if my memory serves me right and also of a certain PCEA priest who openly told Kenyatta the church cannot be involved in such foolishness.

d) Jaramogi did not hand over power to anyone. He had none to start with. He would not have sat on that chair for more than 15mins. He did that to counter Mboya who openly supported Kenyatta. The only reason the whites approached Jaramogi is that he appeared malleable but Kenyatta they regarded as a ruffian. However on reading the mood they knew Jaramogi could not hold Kenya together.

e) Even in America where they are practically homogenous since they are mostly caucasians those who voted for Obama not all felt his presidency. People cannot be castigated for voting for someone. Luos in Kibera have been voting for Raila since Methuselah was a teenager and he has never even planted a bourganvillea bush. He actually pushed them to destroy lavatories that help people curb cholera and dysentery.

f) Mainstream media houses have been openly pro-opposition. His point to Kikuyu owned media houses is abit nonesensical.

Ni hayo tu…

nice rebuttal.
infact hii NASA ikajipanga iwache immature politricks and threats na iwache kutuletea recycled grandfathers who have been stealing since KANU days disguised as reformers it would win 2022 easily.
hata central is tired of PR.
but verily verily I say unto you, 2022 mkileta the same monkeys, wembe ni ule ule.
better my one eyed ogre than yours.
ahsande wote

Ujinga tupu.wacha ruto awe president tuone kama shida zenu zitaisha

Pewa mbili baridi utumie Muigai bill.

I don’t get tribal politics and i am lucky i am neither Kikuyu nor Luo,But they say Karma is a bitch,If history repeats itself in events such as the Haitian revolution is anything to go by, you cannot ostracize, ridicule and put a certain group of people down forever, from the bitterness i hear of some of my Luo friends speaking, there will come a time in future/in future generations when Mt.Kenya will pay dearly, it may not be bloody but karma handed in a worse form,a certain leader will come up and repay what happens,it always happens.The Haitians subjected their tormentors who subjected them to torture to some of the worst punishment ever and put their heads on spikes.

what have the Kiuks done to the Luos

You dont get tribal politics? What do you call what you have posted?

A lesson in history, history always repeats itself and is a good predictor of the future