Yesterday I heard complaints from various sectors that names were missing from Jubilee and IEBC registers. Today the same issue has cropped up in a few ODM nominations (to the point where nomination has been cancelled in a particular station after only 13 people were found in the registers including IEBCs). It seems even IEBC registers haven’t yet been updated since 2013 and this could be a huge problem. How can we be sure that IEBC will have every registered voter in the final list come August?
This is a valid observation
The iebc register is still under audit. Cord went to court to delay the audit.
audit I heard, will be done by KPMG, sijui watalipwa mbirrions ngapi…
swali langu ni, is ODM allowing all and sundry (anyone registered as a voter by IEBC) to participate in the primaries? or you have to be a registered ODM member?
Political parties wana beba watu ufala sana how do they expect to carry out their respective party primaries using an oudated IEBC register and they know very well that most of the voters that go out for party primaries are new Voters who want to see what it feels like voting for the first time
Then why use that register? Both Parties at fault
What else can they use
I have just been talking to a campaigner for a aspiring MCA here ATC.
He was like ‘kama ushapiga kura before enda ukapige kura.’
Nikamwambia mimi si mtu wa ODM.
Akasema ‘haina shida,bora una kitambulisho na voters card go and vote.’
Halafu mbeca ni baribari. As in guys are getting paid to vote hadharani.
Hapo ndipo tumefika kwa ODM nominations hapa ATC…
kumaanisha za ODM ni mtu yeyote anaweza piga kura
in Nyeri yesterday they improvised by allowing to vote anyone who presented an ID and voter registration slip and then noting their details in a special book.
The best way would have been to allow only party delegates, all the way to Ward level to participate in the primaries, not every Wanjiru and Kimani… It would be manageable.
The voter register is a ticking time bomb…unfortunately.
the voter register issue is one cordiots and us tumbilists agree on…only one side has been working very hard to derail the establishment of a good one…
They should conduct mock elections, and pay some convinience fee to those who will turn up, so that their 'tried and tested ’ systems can be checked for bench marking reasons. The pro(em) as (@Eng’iti and my learned friend and @Abba) will ask, is where’s the time?
My learned friend hatuwezi kosa time ya kufanya uotp. Just tell us the time and the place and we will be there .
…hehehe, ni sawa hata RWNBP, tunaweza ( by the way as @Meria Mata) would say ‘thread’s thresh hold achieved’ but let’s focus on the bench marking reasons.
I think the issue will be rushed through as election draws near leaving lots of room for a disagreement. Can you imagine these young thugs wakifika kwa polling station after kupewa kakitu ama kuleweshwa halafu wakose majina yao?
Surprisingly there were very few of those tu-drunkards that uses to be attendant at polling stations during the nominations yesterday in spite of all the money that had changed hands.
Sawa.we will compare notes if not soonest
the political parties can manipulate the details/ names of persons they get from the IEBC voter register to suite them since they wouldnt want members of other parties voting in their primaries