The Shafting is Finally here

“We are in the red. Our quantum payment of debt has crossed over the Sh1 trillion mark. The debt is rising yearly. Revenue projection has been raised from Sh1.4 trillion to the current Sh1.6 trillion. It is expected to be raised to Sh1.8 trillion. The Sh600 billion balance remaining from revenue after debt repayment is not enough,” said Joshua Musimi, CoB Director for Research and Planning.” The Standard

more here: https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001313940/kenya-in-the-red-cra-icpak-and-cob-says

Mimi hii deni ya mchina ndio ilifanya niache pombe na malaya. I could no longer afford to blow 5K every weekend on drinks and lanyes after my employer started delaying paying our monthly dues. By December we will be singing hallelujah!

but we already singing you know

@spear and @FieldMarshal CouchP will ignore this post

This makes me wonder if I should convert my KES savings to the USD account. Ako wapi @spear

That is about a quarter of the owed monies.
Any chance of getting a breakdown of who is getting paid what? Ama ni sensational reporting kama kawaida.

if it takes one year to pay 1.4 trillion debt. and our debt is roughly 6 trillion. Does it mean the government can take like 4 years to pay the total national debt? It is only an idiot who can believe that. First ask yourself what is the repayable period of SGR EXIM bank loan.

@spear
kuja hapa burukenge

Those are interest payments, in reality, we’ll have to pay double the 5 trillion debt but over a longer period.

Each form of debt has different maturity periods.For example some of the local debt dates to the Moi era and the principle needs to be returned.The foreign debt is much more recent,most of it being a mix of all eras except the Kenyatta one.
Also a lot of the dues are interest rather than the debt itself, especially for this Jubilee Government

Me think we save some cash in like a DTb dollar account like I did… Kakiumana ki Venezuela, nina ma dolare

Facts or opinions?

Kwani hujawahi chukua loan? There was an article yesterday about how the current total debt is about 11 trillion, itafute.

The foreign debt from various era cummulatively plus the domestic debt amounts to the national debt that is slightly below 6 trillion. If some of this debt has varying maturity period, and annually you are paying 1.4 trillion as indicated above, it means you will exhaust paying th debt in approximately 4 years. Do you know whether while counting the national debt you just quote the principle amount or u also include the accrued interest

You have the burden of proving…

Educate me how that will be beneficial.

:D:D:D In other words onus probandi.

If our currency loses value, that simply means our purchasing power also reduces. It’s a situation that has been facing citizens of nations whose economy suddenly tumbled.