Honestly, music lovers ain’t talking about this enough! I’m looking at you music nerds like @Jimit
This is a well-thought out piece, with an excellent case study of Drake’s recent output.
There was already a decline, but this was exacerbated and accelerated by the pandemic.
I can remember years where it was week after week of dopeness, with albums that would later become Classics. My last such great year was 2015! Nowadays, a lot feels mediocre and forgettable…
Decent to Great albums nowadays feel like such a rare treasure. Few and far between!
Juzi tu nilisema the last time that I truly enjoyed everything released in rap was 2014 and below. Occasionally some dope releases drop here and there but iko tu vile.
Then weve never had week after week of dopeness…kuna guys/groups who did their debuts and sophomores and fell off…hell some even fell off after debut…it was hits and misses and to make matters worse ungeskia single kwa radio uende uspend 1450 on the cd and the rest is crap…thank God for free downloads.
Again dont forget you have your whole life to craft your debut album after that ni ku sustain maintain or chase the hype…its not easy man.
Halafu the difference between the current crop na past artistes ni in a lot of interviews artistes wa days long gone would always use the word CONCEPT when discussing their upcoming albums…these days ni kudiscuss producer na streaming numbers…thats the difference.
Nimeona hio list ya your 40…yaani umeamua kendrick tpab ndio kusema…anyway interesting selection.
Then weve never had week after week of dopeness…kuna guys/groups who did their debuts and sophomores and fell off…hell some even fell off after debut…it was hits and misses and to make matters worse ungeskia single kwa radio uende uspend 1450 on the cd and the rest is crap…thank God for free downloads.
Again dont forget you have your whole life to craft your debut album after that ni ku sustain maintain or chase the hype…its not easy man.
Halafu the difference between the current crop na past artistes ni in a lot of interviews artistes wa days long gone would always use the word CONCEPT when discussing their upcoming albums…these days ni kudiscuss producer na streaming numbers…thats the difference.
Nimeona hio list ya your 40…yaani umeamua kendrick tpab ndio kusema…anyway interesting selection.
My second last album was in 1999, The Wu - Syndicate by myalansky and joe Mafia.
My last one was in 2003, Wu tangs’ Iron flag. I was so disappointed I stopped buying albums. After their solo acts I was expecting dope hits lakini wapi!..
Kuna siku utatamani hio iron flag utaitafuta utaipenda…going by the current releases…uta realise wackness ya them days bado had a bit of substance.
Iron flag wasnt that by the way a few grimy tracks interesting production techniques (kwanza ile track unaskia shurikens zinatupwa halafu the sound starts in one of your speakers and ends in the other) niliskia hio track nikadhani ni tenje ina shida so i cranked the volume the louder it got the more i enjoyed the album.
Iron flags a solid album. Kuanzia 8 diagrams ndio kuliharibika. A betta tomorrow hata usiseme.
True dat…ndio maana hata sijashughulika nikauliza inasema nini.
We are talking about the entire music industry, not individual musicians. Like there was a time you would have dope dropouts every month in the minimum from a variety of genre. Siku izi ata Pop imekua very bland, ati Harry Styles ndo kusema saa izo. Hip hop tusiongelee
That would be 2011 when Carter IV came out. Its not entirely dead per se coz once in a long while some very good tapes come out, like DAMN, TLOP and such
It’s NOT dead. But feels dead for ‘casual’ hiphop/rap listeners. If you are a true hiphop head, you still look hard enough and dig out gems, mostly in the underground. Stuff that’s nowhere near the Billboard Charts…
This is probably one of the most asked questions but again are the grammies still relevant? Tangu waonyeshe The Weeknd madharau live live I never bothered with other categories. Naskim tu kwa Dance category nione ni albums gani zimetambulika
That shit really irked me to the core. Na venye I really loved all of the albums in that category save fo Beyonce’s. Also, the fact that Jay performed when he has been castigating the Grammies for a while. Him and his wife are sell outs.
Beyonce had a good album. She was experimenting with different sounds and getting out of her comfort zone (sounds which included EDM/ Electronic), but it wasn’t a PURE EDM record. She took that category through her sheer star power. Sad, if you’re deep into EDM. It’s like how Ye won Best Christian Album two years, simply because Ye happened to be in that category, despite a terrible album. I really felt for the bonafide fellow nominated gospel acts.