Let me expose yet another popular lie held by ignorant kenyans.
Kenyans, as usual, always obscenely overrate themselves. They have always deceived themselves that they matter a lot in the grand scheme of things and, consequently, they have attributed the events /’changes’, that have happened in the country to their ‘struggle’ and ‘efforts’(Like stupid Okuyus believing that those mau mau hoodlums brought independence) That our cultures don’t encourage critical and independent thinking makes it even worse.
One lie that Kenyans cling to is that Moi allowed multipartyism due to the saba saba riots of 1990 and the agitations that followed.
Any casual observer with only a glimpse of history will tell you that with the fall of communism, ‘democracy’ waves were sweeping across the world and the western world, with soviet union out of the way, could no longer support dictators like Moi. Moi and other leaders had no option but to allow for multiparty democracy. The west could no longer blindly support Moi and the likes of Mobutu.
In short, the fall of Soviety Union and triumph of liberal democracy brought about ‘democratic’ changes in many African countries and not just kenya.
Do Kenyans sincerely believe Moi could capitulate because of some few disgruntled elements staging street protests? He had no option but to allow for multiparty democracy otherwise the west could simply have funded proxies to overthrow him. He allowed multiparty democracy because of pressure from western countries AND not because of street protests.
But then Kenyans love wallowing in delusions and overrating themselves.
Kenyans never brought independence. The Britons simply got tired of funding colonies and there was a new cop in town- the US- that had no history of colonising other countries. The British new then that their time was over.
Mnasikia??? You Kenyans have never achieved anything meaningful and truly indigenous. You all are controlled by western powers. The only thing you have achieved collectively as ‘Kenyans’ is siring like rats because sex doesn’t require any brain power.And you are now facing full consequences of your folly- siring like rats.
When in 70s the South Koreans were busy building Samsung to be what it is today, you(in your progenitors) were busy in bed- the only factory where a kenyan is an expert- making babies.
now, samsung’s revenue is about $200 billion per year. About twice kenya’s GDP. yes a company of about 200,000 employees is twice more productive than a country of 50 million bonobos. Just a single product -samsung phone- earns many times more than your country’s total exports.
And you only know to yap about bad leaders- is it Ruto or uhuru or kibaki or moi that made you sire like rats???
Is it Ruto that makes you use smart phones to access pornography instead of learning new skills that you can offer to american companies?
Is it Ruto that forces kenyan idiotic women to use tiktok to display their shapeless buttocks to the world instead of using it for business purposes?
Ghaseer nyinyi.
Stop BLAMING leaders for your collective low IQ.
Go teach history at the University of Nairobi. ChatGPT could have easily summarised that with a proper prompt.
io kitu huitwa multi party democracy haina manufaa kwa mwananchi wa kawaida, political parties ni biashara za watu, na beneficiary wa io multiparty democracy ni Raila Odinga na chama yake ya ODM.