The Nike and Athletics Kenya story on Nation

http://mobile.nytimes.com/2016/03/06/world/africa/nike-under-scrutiny-as-payments-for-kenya-runners-are-drained.html?ref=topics&referer=http://topics.nytimes.com/top/news/business/companies/nike_inc/index.html?inline=nyt-org

This story appeared on the daily Nation of yesterday and reading it I didn’t see them giving credit to the NY Times I.e(I stand corrected, though I will cross check again ) where it was written but anyway how can a story of this magnitude with local sources escape our Kenyan media houses to the extent that they have to get it word for word from NY Times

The laziness of Kenyan journalists! Period!

Kenyan journalist are only interested in politics of the day and corruption cases that will give political milage nothing more or less.

http://fittish.deadspin.com/something-sketchy-is-going-on-between-nike-and-the-keny-1763209356

This comment from user writewhatilike sums it all up!

A major takeaway here is how international companies not only turn a blind eye to graft in sub Saharan Africa, but benefit greatly from it and often fuel it. We always hear about glutinous and corrupt African politicians and bureaucrats but we don’t hear enough about how big business encourages corruption and then makes it so lucrative, it becomes a centre of power onto itself.
This is widespread from pharmaceuticals to agri/food business to energy companies. If you’re interested Ugandan journalist Andrew Mwenda is an incredible reporter.

[ATTACH=full]33214[/ATTACH]

yeah intresting read

Yaani Kiplagat and Co pocketed a cool $500k tax free no wonder walikuwa wamekwamilia hio kiti for decades ever since I can remember he has always being the chair

Lakini, are we seriously blaming other people for corruption that we participate in?

Yes, they damaged the brain of African people by showing us nice things and teaching us to pursue them at any cost. Since that day an African man had to be worthy by emulating white people, it is the only thing that matters. We want their cars, their shoes, their houses, their lifestyle; while destroying our own, killing and stealing from ourselves. Kenyans have no self-pride or self-confidence, our leaders cannot even negotiate with the white corp orates, always being given raw deals because they lack internal harmony, direction, motivation and ambition. We wake up in the morning to chase Western materialism. The West, Japan and China, wakes up i the morning to create it. We thump our chest and seek validation for consuming, the other group feels satisfied in life by producing. Foolish Africans.

:D:D:D:D:D:D