The News of My Demise are Greatly Exaggerated...........But I Neary Did

No, Anko @uwesmake, I am not dead.

But I nearly died.

On Saturday morning, a mad thought entered my mind.

I got into an old car, a Caldina, and pointed its nose towards Thika.

Along Thika Road, I fueled 3k and drove for about 3 hours at 80km/hr steady.

Accidents galore along the road, from two damsels who had kissed each other’s butts at Roysambu, to bodaboda shenanigans at Thika.

Soon, I was at the first road block on the Garissa-Mwingi Road.

And then the second one at Yatta, near the NYS land grabbed by Kamelon.

The APs waved to stop so that the vehicles from the opposite direction could pass.

And that’s when I nearly died.

On my back mirror, I saw this blue bus coming at me like a bat from hell, headlights blazing.

He flashed the lights several times.

I could do nothing - just in front of me were the spikes, and the cars from the opposite side were blocking the way.

I knew there was going to be a crash.

A second (or 10, I don’t know) is a long time.

I remembered I had not told anybody where I was going. I was like 1oo kms from home.

I remembered that accident that occured in Nakuru where a couple parked on the shoulder was crushed to death by a speeding bus.

The bus was upon me.

Then in a moment of grace, the driver swerved off the road and onto the shoulder, missing me by inches.

He run over the barrier which covers the shoulder and the bus went into the grassy ditch by the road, about six feet down, and continued moving!

Thankfully it didn’t overturn!

After about 50 metres, the bus stopped.

I noticed that the all the APs had run-off to the far side, and most were holding their mouths.

I was alive, but very shaken.

I got out of the car, and the APs run to where I was and told me God was with me. Typical Kenyan BS.

They did not go after the bus, which had now retaken to the tarmac.

A few kms down the road, near a place I think is called Kithimani, I caught up with the bus that nearly killed.

To his credit the driver stopped.

What he said next astounded me.

(TO BE CONTINUED)

Next: What I learnt from doing the Kithimani-Kabaa-Mumbuni-Kivandini-Mwala-Makutano-Mayakos circuit, and how I draefraed a half-Bukusu from Majengo at Kafeco thinking she was a genuine Kabondian

16 Likes

@admin pea huyu jamaa ka village title hivi

@admin, your site has certain gremlins, which come on and off.

Like, when I post it’s not confirmed, which makes one post the same thing several times.

Thanks,

PHIL

good, but…

I AFFIRM IT MEETS THE HEKAYA STANDARDS , @admin PEA KUKAA KATITLE .

patia hii fossil title kabla ituwache admin

Admin, this awaits if u give Guka title
[ATTACH=full]36863[/ATTACH]

But what, ngabu @gashwin?

Apewe title ya “Mwîthiîri” meaning the soon to leave us.

No title for Guka, he is too forgetful this days.
Pole fiud marsho, next time ukitoka sema waenda wapi

Ngabu tulisema hii mambo ya “to be continued” ni kama kuambiwa ni hivyo sasa na huja…

:D:D:D:D:D:D

@FieldMarshal CouchP there is one person who prays for you every morning. It must be your mother…

Guka = uwesmake.
Take that to equity

how can a moderator kiss the admin?? :eek::eek:

@Guru, I think you are right. You know we make stuff here, but that was truly a close call.

And the crazy thing, nobody knew where I was at that particular time, though I never leave my ID behind.

@admin pea hii fossil title ama @bati bwoy akamue kunyi

Tracing your memhasib using your ID would have taken ages. You are wiser now, give her atlease a clue to where you are going. You can even tell her you wish to go and buy charcoal in Mwingi :D:D:D even though she dont use it…

augaga mwathani ndaakuhoya umenyerere kahii karia gakwa o haria kari…

I am finding it very difficult to negotiate this site today. Like are not reflecting immediately, I can’t edit, etc etc.

So, if you notice more typos than usual, blame Phil!

Aiii, nindarega.