The New Lenana Hotel Nairobi is complete - Swiss International Lenana Hotel

Businessman Nginyo Kariuki’s family in 2015 picked a Chinese contractor to demolish and build afresh the Lenana Mount Hotel in Nairobi. The family hired China Zhongxing Construction Company, the firm that built the 18-floor Cardinal Otunga Plaza in Nairobi, to build a modern hotel on the plot located along Ralph Bunche Road in Milimani. James Antony Kairuki, a son of Mr Nginyo Kariuki who is also a director of Nginyo Investments, said they are putting up a 150-room modern hotel “to keep up with the market trends.” He said the upcoming hotel is an upgrade of the previous one, which had only 50 rooms. Nginyo Investments Ltd, an investment vehicle for the hotel, said the new hotel will be targeting both corporate clientele and leisure travellers is in the city. Demand for Meeting, Incentives and Conferences and Exhibition (MICE) facilities has seen increased investments in the hospitality sector. More than five hotels have come up in the city in the last one year, all seeking to meet the projected demand. Nginyo Investment Ltd said the new hotel will be five star-rated and will charge a premium price for accommodation compared to the previous investment. It will have a large basement parking and swimming pool at the roof top, among other amenities. Its business model will be purely hotel. Mr Kariuki, however, declined to mention the value of the investment but said it will be self-funded. But it is likely the family might also take up debt given the size of investment it is undertaking. Going by what other hoteliers have invested in expansion, the Nginyos investment could be in the range of billions of shillings.
http://i.imgur.com/OOUgo4W.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/TLXpFQa.jpg?1
http://i.imgur.com/CwNyJrm.jpg?1
http://i.imgur.com/Duhz9Df.jpg?1
http://i.imgur.com/PQ1J8LB.jpg?1
https://i.imgur.com/1UeuoPK.jpg?2
https://i.imgur.com/3eNu779.jpg?2
https://i.imgur.com/St3uXHP.jpg?2
http://i.imgur.com/CCWVzNZ.jpg?1
http://i.imgur.com/KQAcxKP.jpg?1
http://i.imgur.com/e68OmB5.jpg?1

Nginyo, what a name…

Nginyo kariuki Used to contest as Kiambaa MP

azii…akuma mawe ama cement

Steel, glass and precasting blocks. Save on construction time and material then concentrate on the good interior.

steel frame, hizo floor slab huwa na a thin slab of concrete which ni ya ku reduce noise

what about the strength and stability of the structure

Mawe yatumika but kidogo. Its very good technology and cheap but haijashika viile.

This is the final product. Swiss International Hotels & Resorts have bought shares in the hotel and will handle its management. It’s now called Swiss international Lenana Hotel
https://exp.cdn-hotels.com/hotels/17000000/16580000/16570500/16570468/0d4cfeda_z.jpg
https://exp.cdn-hotels.com/hotels/17000000/16580000/16570500/16570468/858e3efa_z.jpg
https://exp.cdn-hotels.com/hotels/17000000/16580000/16570500/16570468/24e4531a_z.jpg
https://exp.cdn-hotels.com/hotels/17000000/16580000/16570500/16570468/8c574571_z.jpg

Very strong and stable.

Itashika sana kama place ya nginyo. How apt?

Was also wondering what tech they are using. No standard brick and mortar.

Iko sawa kabisa, steel huwa stronger than concrete by far, and its good in both tension and compression. thats why unaona kama hizo columns ni konda kuliko the normal ones umezoea za concrete.

Hapa nita differ, what makes steel structures cost less than R.C huwa ni labour costs, steel huwa erected teke sana with few guys. Lakini in Kenya unlike majuu, construction labour is dirt cheap, sasa steel hu end up kuwa more expensive. Clients choose to use steel when construction time is given a higher priority than cost.

hiyo ni ile ilikuwa Nginyo Towers?

Where is the swimming pool?

Superb results!

When I saw the first frame I thought: what a mediocre form and an engineering odditty for NBO. The final images are stunning, well in that 5 star region the Nginyo family aimed for.

Nginyo sounds so obscene for a name

But the handiwork on the building is a masterpiece though…

Its now how you start the journey, its how you arrive that matters. If this elections goes well for me then next year me and a few partners will put up a small industrial park using the same steel and precast technology.

Huyu si wa murang’a?

origin home area is in Kiambu. Imagine of all places NDUMBERI !!!