Add on that. She bring no mps to Raila coalition. Narc Kenya won’t get any mps in the election. Even in the unlikely event Raila was to win,he will have to dump her and look for ways to cooperate with Ruto for mps sake in order to govern
The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) National Vice Chairman Kipruto Arap Kirwa on Sunday, May 29, defected to the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition party. Kirwa was unveiled by Azimio flagbearer Raila Odinga’s running mate Martha Karua. The trio addressed a public rally at the Mayuba Stadium in Sirisia, Bungoma County.
The outgoing UDA official was one of the most experienced politicians in UDA - having served as Cherang’any MP for ten years and as a Cabinet Minister for five years in President Mwai Kibaki’s first term.
From left: Azimio One Kenya presidential flagbearer Raila Odinga, n Kipruto Arap Kirwa and Narc Kenya party leader Martha Karua attending a rally at Mayuba Stadium in Sirisia, Bungoma County on Sunday, May 29, 2022.
The veteran politician cited the selection of Mathira MP Rigathi Gachagua as Deputy President William Ruto’s running mate as a major factor in his exit. He added that he was demoralized after the decision but only got hope after his former compatriot, Karua, was picked to deputize Raila.
The former Agriculture minister intimated that he reached out to the Narc Kenya party leader on May 28 at night, to inform her of her decision, which he wanted to make public during Azimio’s next rally. In addition, he officially announced his resignation from UDA and declared support for Raila Odinga.
“Yesterday night I called Karua and asked her where she would be and she told me in Bungoma. I told her that I would be coming to the rally to officially join Azimio…From Today, I Kipruto Arap Kirwa have resigned as the UDA Vice-Chairman, because democracy may fail in Kenya Kwanza. The law dictated that the winner of an election must have 50 percent plus one, and I have brought my one vote to Raila Odinga,” he added.
UDA guys live in their own bubble where Ruto is at the center and they worship him like jesus. And of course UDA can never lose any influence anywhere ever under any and all circumstances.
And this will be their first disagreement. Her power will be ceremonial at best na hiyo kiburi yake that has kept her unmarried and ‘independent’ will be unleashed. We are looking at another ruto dp scenario.
Raila has done well in the past minus the central votes. The Karua pick could re-energize his past strongholds. The anti-raila gospel in central runs deep but let’s say she moves the needle in Meru, ukambani, nep, western, sections of RV n coast. Then it anybody’s game at that point.
ASSmio are beyond illusionary maths now. It’s currently Voodoo maths. Karua was a blip on Twitter for a few days only. Those can be categorised like PK supporters of 2013 that didn’t show up in the ballot.
Tonight their egos have being hurt greatly. UDA in Kirinyaga was incredibly HUGE. All that money and over use of police in the county didn’t get beyond 10% votes. Now reduced to nothing.
Keep bleating like the paid goon that you are. Mtajua hamjui. You will have to curb that grabbing appetite because thief Ruto and thief gachagua are not going anywhere.
Aki ile aibu huyu mzee atafanyiwa hajawahi ona. Ruto is going to absolutely humiliate him. He could have retired in dignity but he will now go out in total shame
Nice read. Thought the discussion was leading somewhere. Like you were about to unleash the results of an impeccable pollstar. Only to read that Kirinyaga was ‘HuGE’. Shallow. Reminds me of Donald Trump’s “we won by a lot”. Damn underwhelming!