Ok…first of all am their fan… i have watched all their episodes on YT. They have a really good concept to a point i was tempted to sign up to one of their trips. Then i noted something…these guys will drive all the way to Lake Malawi via afew different counties but spend limited to minimum time at the pass through countries. Okay to me…l feel like their expeditions need more days in order to enjoy their trips in each country. These guys will spend the whole day driving (dusk to dawn) from one camp site to the next one. No stop overs in between to interact with the locals to enjoy the culture. Kutembea place ni ku mingle with the locals and enjoy their stories and local foods. These guys carry their own foods from kenya…kazi ni kufika kwa camp grounds usiku…set up the site then start cooking. Sleep…wake up in the morning, tengeneza mtiabe, then start driving towards the next camp site. Rinse and repeat until they arrive at their final destination country e.g Malawi. They will spend a whole day or two in malawi visiting some tourists attraction sites then start their long journey back to Kenya…hopping from camp site to campsite like they did going down there. For me an ideal rd trip would be…plan to take afew weeks off for the trip, do the same camping at night but interact with the locals mchana…kula food yao, kuleni ma story nao na ukiweza make sure unakula lanye kwa kila country unaingia to solidify your presence there. Not spending 7 days driving non stop to Malawi…spend two days there then spend another 7 days driving back to Kenya. Also their model nimeona imeanza kuwa copied by other youtubers…naona wapanthre wanajiita " our kenyan diaries" pia wako soko offering same adventure packages. I plan to do similar local trips and hikes with family… last year we drove to Isiolo …Buffalo Springs Samburu, we visited Ol Jogi animal park and Olpajeta park too. I plan to hit Lake Ellis this year…Mt Longonot is a must every year…kupanda na kuzunguka the crater. Msee hu feel poa sana kufanya outdoor activities esp with family…you bond alot and create memories.
I have two big problems with the mara nomads.
First is what you’ve mentioned. It feels like a school trip with the principal in charge dictating what to do and when. I’ve also observed how they treat cars that break down. Unaachangwa apo na mech mjue kama mtavurutana adi nai or what next. But hawatakuwa na time yako. They move on.
Second and most important is how they treated their videographer/editor. Look him up and see how petty they got while taking him to court.
For these two reasons, I’d advise you either seek another off roading group or start your own. It’s not that hard.
Yeah waa just watching that video on who took my cheese…guy posted today that he won against them. Been following them for a while and while they have a good concept they also need to make some changes.
Wewe enda na private car. You can’t control the itinerary of the organizer
Chapa road trip na afew mates. More relaxed and you can spend time wherever you feel kuna good vibes.
Join using what? Iyo CRV yako haitaweza. Nikikamata Pajero najoin hao chapchap. Kuna places ukienda solo utaumia sana. especially Rift valley marsabit and such.
It is VERY HARD! Organizing such trips is not an easy and keep in mind among them there are people who can double up as mechanics.
That is what you see on YouTube. My brother is amongst one of them he was in their recent trip to Malawi and Zambia. You cannot expect all that to be captured in the YouTube clips. They do a lot of shit and even get drunk.
Ok. I stand corrected. But everything has a starting point. A group of 4/5 decent guys can be a start. Trips za kwanza zikuwe the usual Nakuru/Namanga until the little kinks are met and worked on before embarking on a proper trip.
OOh starting small will work. And at least when free muende mupate automotive mechanical skills so that you can be useful; to each other in case of a breakdown
Sema unataka kuenda ukisafisha rungu at all stops
You have answered yourself when you stated, ‘my ideal road trip would be….’ I did a lid back tour in Tanzania last year via Holili Taveta border with a friend, we took matatus, sampled towns between Holili and Arusha, slept in transit in Moshi town tukasample, Arusha pia, then took a bus to Dodoma and enjoyed the town, went with their new sgr train to Dar es salaam, enjoyed the town and used Tahmeed to cross via lungalunga border. It was a worthwhile experience and I think we did not spend over 30k each for the one and a half week trip across the vast Tz, next time we will drive our own car.
Huyo mkale mwenye ni leader nimewahi patana naye pale Upper Hill tukabonga ni msee cool.
@paparazzi , hapo Holili Ndio mtaani, next time say HI.
@Sio_Leo wewe ni fala. Mtingizwa kitandani hapo ameongea points poa.
Solo safaris are the best. Group safaris is a NO.
Big issue is joining the convoy as a new-face, you won’t enjoy being instructed by the leader of the group, while not being very comfortable enjoying yourself to the fullest.
The best trip is with close friends, guys you are familiar with, mnaenda mkipiga story na kuenjoy every mile of the trip, making spontaneous stops, detours, and plans. Na hapo no leaving anybody behind because of a breakdown.
The best trip is you alone with your wife/gf.
A guy who used to move with them stopped coz of exactly that,they are ever driving to the next stop.He also mentioned that at the camp they have to be woken up early so that they can be on the road early for the next stop.As in experience ni kama ile ya high school trip,there is always a teacher behind you with a cane.
Nowadays they do it on their own,I accompany them and nothing beats getting to a campsite,light a bonfire and beat stories till the last can of beer drops empty,then wake up following day at your own time spend another day at the camp doing other different stuffs