The Irony of yesterday's celebrations.

I watched the news yesterday and saw the celebrations in Eldoret and Nakuru after the collapse of Ruto and Kipsang case at the hague. I was left totally confused when I saw the former victims and the aggressors( I wonder who was who because both were victims and aggressors depending on time and place) hooting, ululating and jubilating in happiness. I totally understand the desperation that would lead a victim/ aggressor to end up in this kind of scenario in pursuit of peace, but the big question is “Have we seen the last of this violence in the Rift valley?” There may be a lull in 2017 because the antagonists may still join hands, but what happens in 2022 if one side fails to fulfill an ambiguous pact. Are we not simply laying the grounds for another round of killings. Can’t we just support parties based on their manifesto and ideology?

Onawe wicokerie ciuria icio.

I felt like crying.Ukabila ni mbaya

apprehension/caution is a genuine human feeling. but only a fool hesitates by the riverside for days on end when they could build a raft to cross…(a modern mhenga)

Kenyans are moving forward. The only thing that ICC failed to was to deliver The Presidency to one Jakom.

[SIZE=4][FONT=Arial]osungu.dll, hii nayo ni gani??[/FONT][/SIZE]

stockholm syndrome. But IMHO, meffi ya kale hayanuki.

Celebrations jana North Rift nasikia zilishika mbaya

[ATTACH=full]36230[/ATTACH]

12 Likes

Problem with your take is that you assume to much and then go ahead to make a scenerio with a set result.

“I totally understand the desperation” “There may be a lull in 2017 because the antagonists may still join hands” “what happens in 2022 if one side fails to fulfill an ambiguous pact. Are we not simply laying the grounds for another round of killings”

These are all assumptions and people do learn from past mistakes especially grave ones. Chances of violence is now higher in maybe western or coast than R.V.

“Can’t we just support parties based on their manifesto and ideology?” Jubilee has a manifesto and arent they being judge against it now.

However i understand your apprehension but i know wananchi are getting wiser, it’s a winner takes all for politicians but not for the peasants.

Fixed , thanks.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CfVlj3kUAAAQM4I.jpg:large

The cases were bound to fail from the start. We ought to have started by arresting and prosecuting the perpetrators on the ground who were well known. By now we would be knowing who organized/sent them and we would be having real culprits and solid cases. I wrote a piece in klost in which i said you can NEVER climb a tree from the top

I like his optimism, maybe I am mistaken in my assumptions.

If 600k people were displaced, in a country of 37.75m, how many people does it take to “show” celebration across the country?

I doubt everyone in Rift Valley is happy about this.

I had to look for the meaning. It captures what I was belabouring.

Are you confirming my fear that we have only covered the festering wound?

Jesus Christ

charge the right people!! [ATTACH=full]36237[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]36238[/ATTACH]

And why would not honour our side of bargain? Hii ujuaji wenyu mungiki ndiyo huwa inafanya mpigwe,

http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/images/wednesday/hcnslkpgr50kbu5704c1750249a.jpg
Eldoret residents in jubilation after William Ruto and Joshua Sang were set free by the International Criminal Court. (Photo: Kevin Tunoi/Standard)

Post-election violence victims in North Rift Tuesday conducted prayers for Deputy President William Ruto and Joshua Sang before the ICC delivered its ruling. The group under the ‘Kenya Peace and Reconciliation Initiative’, which comprised victims from both Kalenjin and Kikuyu communities, called for an end to the cases. The victims marched along Timboroa trading centre, one of the epicentres of the violence, and conducted prayers. They also expressed optimism that the two would be acquitted of the charges. “We expect the best results from the court and if in any way they rule against their favour, we shall be forced to travel to ICC and appeal the decision,” said the group’s chairman Stephen Mwangi. He said the violence is behind them. “We do not wish to see Ruto and Sang continue experiencing hard times in a case which to us is of no help. We already forgave each other and agreed to live in harmony,” said Mwangi. Benjamin Chepserem lauded the Government for resettling them, saying the country is currently at peace after massive campaigns from religious groups and leaders on the need to unite. “The case has no value to us. We suffered a lot in 2007 but have healed. ICC should drop any charges against the two as we head to the next general election,” he said. At the same time, victims from Kiambaa in Uasin Gishu, which was adversely affected, said the communities that were engaged in the skirmishes have since reconciled. Joseph Githuku, who lost his wife and child in the skirmishes, said they had reconciled and forgiven each other and are now engaging in development activities together. “It will be our joy if the Kenyan cases at the ICC are terminated for we have enjoyed peace with our neighbours,” he said.
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000197335/violence-victims-held-prayers-for-ruto-ahead-of-landmark-ruling