The future of Software Development

Guys, I took a break from software development(Android) like 3years ago, though I was still a beginner because I got a good offer in IT Support field. Sasa nataka kurudi tena coding(full stack) but with the advancement of AI and the likes of ChatGPT how is the future of software development? What about cyber security?

I will appreciate your valuable feedback.

Gpt lacks the ability to think critically,solve complex problems, and generate new ideas…it is supposed to be used as a companion tool so I’d suggest you go for it

Pitia hii thread kwanza:

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/jobs-that-will-soon-be-replaced-by-ai.254994/#post-4137125

Chat GPT is old news, try see what Auto GPT can do …

Think critically? Solve complex problems?

The thing can literally read it’s own code and correct it if you ask it to
It can even rewrite the entire code if you add more details about what you want it to do.
Don’t downplay it because people are.

Here’s 2 tasks.
First one is ChatGPT coding and solving issues with the code when pointed out (while apologizing btw).

Second one is writing a sorting system even with limitations from how Gmail does it’s stuff.

This is just the tip of the iceberg. GitHub CoPilot has existed for years now and has been suggesting the next lines of code to even the most obscure projects you can ever dream off. Both owned by Microsoft. Once they hook it up to ChatGPT… It should be able to undertake crazy projects.

Ffs, that thing suggests the next lines of code to freaking fix Turnip drivers (Qualcomm open source drivers by MESA). Drivers. That’s a step removed from any software you have ever used in your life. Devs don’t write drivers. Hardware manufacturers do.

It’s fantastic that you’re considering a return to full-stack development after your hiatus in the IT Support field. Technology has been evolving rapidly, and it’s an exciting time to dive back in.

The future of software development is looking super exciting, especially with the integration of AI and technologies like ChatGPT. AI can enhance automation, streamline tasks, and open up new possibilities in software creation.
As for cybersecurity, it’s more crucial than ever. With the growing digital landscape, protecting data and systems is a top priority. So, exploring cybersecurity aspects along with coding skills is a smart move.
Besides, custom software development might be worth exploring. It allows you to create tailored solutions that fit specific needs.

Quite insightful. I took a break from software development a few years ago n now was wondering if it’s worth it going back.

F