The ferk is wrong with these Americans?

Anthony Buordain commits suicide.
The second celebrity suicide in a matter of days.
[MEDIA=twitter]1005047895358365696[/MEDIA]

Mental illnesses ndugu…hii kitu ni serious sana kwa wazungus…i suspect has something to do with how their genes were wired

Siyo wazungu pekee lots of kenyans living with depression trying not to drown. I have close relatives battling with it.

[ATTACH=full]174907[/ATTACH]

The news is barely 10 minutes old but Wikipedia has already updated his profile to reflect the fact that he’s dead, noma sanaaa.

How many high profile celebrities have you seen committing suicide in Kenya?

A 61 year old dying is hardly news

None I know, but depression is the new cancer does not spare even kids.

years of suffering…or should I say generations of struggle has toughened…yes we experience depression but we handle it differently

My point being the fact that high profile Americans are committing suicide means the issue is much much bigger than we we have on our hands.

The news is in the celebrity suicide not the age.

I think the structure of their society predisposes them to mental illness, american society is probably the most individualistic in the world and that is where we are headed . from being a society based on a communal setup to one where everyone is responsible for their fate and doesn’t care what happens to everyone else, in such a set up there is no support system for you when you are in trouble, that feeling of detachment will lead to all kinds of mental issues.

In kenya there are many ppl who comit suicide its only that society hides it unlike the west. Have you ever heard of anyone in kenya conducting research on suicide deaths?

Ulipotelea wapi madam? I’ve been missing your Avatar.
Depression is not a joke. But it happens alot to people who like to go it alone. Extremely individualistic and talented people like artists, musicians, scientists, and other high achievers have a higher tendency to fall into depression than normal people.
One thing is to reach out to such people even when they try to avoid company. Invite them over even if they are disagreeable in conversations. You might be saving a life

Smart man…loved his shows & writings. He used to be a heavy drug user. I guess his demons came back.

I concur. Depression and loneliness are serious issues. Man is a social being. I know introverts dont love company but we should try to reach out to them more often.

And any existing support system to help one cope and recover is money oriented.

This is what is referred to as an atomized society and Kenya reached that point years ago. Very tragic.

You guys are conflating two different things, there’s the normal periodical depression that affects everyone when someone loses something meaningful in their lives. That is easily treatable with SSRI medication.

Then there’s clinical depression that comes in form of PTSD and another undefeatable beast called Major Depression which affects people with Bipolar, child trauma, rape and sexual abuse, schizophrenia, ADHD, etc.

The latter is untreatable and psychiatrists usually consider people suffering from the same as having a personality disorder. I believe these are the people who commit suicide most because their lives eventually become unbearable.

We don’t need you company. Extroverts can have each other.:D:D

I don’t think it’s about genes, but rather the American society is just too stressful.