The day my Aunt became mentally ill

Many years ago, my aunt became mentally ill. It was very heart breaking. She was a respected teacher in a public primary school in Kiambu town. She was not raving lunatic, but she started doing things that were utterly and completely unlike herself. Things like smearing her face and hair with anything she got hold of, things like flour, ashes, milking jelly, cooking fat, anything she came across. She also did other things, yaani she simply lost it!
But the worst part of the whole ordeal came when she was taken to hospital. The only mental hospital known to all humanity in Kenya in those times was Mathari. And that is where she was taken. We went to visit her. And it was so demeaning. She was in an old blue khaki dress that was literally a rug. It was very dirty. But, worse, it was torn on the armpits. And we could see her private parts and all. And it was very bad because, even if she was mad and restless, she ought to have been treated with dignity. Imagine seeing your respected and loved aunt, a school teacher, in such a horrible state!
She recovered fully, resumed teaching a different school and now she’s retired from work. And we still love her.

Must have been very painful. Pole bro.

A happy ending indeed

heartbreaking…sad we never detect mental illnesses early…

The challenges we surpass in the course of our lives are unimaginable. The most positive part is that she fully recovered. Thank God for life

SV tujifunze kutumia neno hili surpass vizuri tafadhali…

I used it in the context of overcoming VE

Pole Ndugu for that ordeal with a happy ending. Some things really challenge our mental faculties for we cannot fathom the how’s and the why’s. Now imagine those for whom the ordeal has become permanent. A loved one’s action and thought processes wasting away as you helplessly watch not knowing when or if at all relief will come.
Care for such people should be improved and the stigma the condition carries removed via public awareness and education.

ok, but we are not in competition with the challenges, are we now?

I am happy that your aunt recovered. I can only imagine the torture you guys went through. Luckily, God granted her clemency.

Kwani the only legitimate use of words and phrases is the one your know?

[SIZE=4]Quotes to Inspire You to Take on and Surpass Great Challenges

2: to go beyond : overstep

Surpass Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster

One can overcome, exceed, overstep, surmount challenges.[/SIZE]

i stand corrected Sir, cc @pipita

I also used to think once someone got mentally ill then the chances of recovery were extremely slim, until I saw a neighbor recover from the illness. The woman is one of those friendly, ever smiling types that say hi to everyone. One day she just started screaming and speaking gibberish. She recognized everyone she met on the road, but engaged them in nonsensical banter. It took five men to get her into the vehicle that took her to hospital (she’s petite). Now she’s back to “normal”. We were later told it was severe depression.
Which got me thinking: maybe most of those mentally challenged people who walk around naked or in dirty rags, picking trash, just never got the chance to get treatment. Maybe their families just assumed their condition was irreversible and never bothered to help them. Sad.

The way modern Kenyans still treat mental health is totally unacceptable. Mental illness is just like any other form of illness and all the stigma, uchawi nonsense and shame about mental well being needs to be overcome. Otherwise what’s the point of claiming to be a modern ,educated New generation?
Thanks for bringing this up.
It’s estimated that 75 per cent of the population will at one stage in their life experience mental health issues.

It’s time we educated ourselves on this issue. Na si Tafadhali!..

“One flew over the Cuckoo’s nest”…

Most “wenda wazimus” are schizophrenic. However, very many people suffer from depression in Kenya, but no one talks about it because of the way our society handles mental illness.

Why do you think we have so many functioning alcoholics in Kenya? They are depressed people who are self medicating.

Hata hapa kijijini kuna wagonjwa wa akili. Sana sana mafan wa Arsenal.

Hehehe.

Mental illness is terrible. To start with, the patient is unaware, secondly, the society has no idea how to respond, and thirldly, the stigma and suspicion even after full recovery is downright crazy…ignore the pun