The Curious and Cautionery Tale of Moses "Mose" Muchangi, the Late

The dude was gunned down yesterday at about 11.30am outside a mall in Langata.

He was the MD of Rasasi Investments, which runs the commuter buses Rasasi between LA and the CBD, and also at least 350 Mpesa outlets.

At the time he was shot, he was carrying 2m, which however was not stolen indicating that the purpoted theft was actually a cover for a hit. Nor was his licensed firearm stolen, or his phone.
What makes Mose’s tragedy rather curious is that he became rich very, very quickly.

At the time of his death he was just in his early 40s.

His trajectory to wealth - and eventual death - begun about 18 years ago when he joined the police force as a constable/driver. Soon, he was working with the Bank Anti-fraud Unit, and the money started rolling in.

Just a couple of years later he resigned to concentrate on private business, among them Rasasi.

Now, he is dead, shot three times with an AK.

I may not have all the details, and I would not want to connect Mose’s murder to the criminal underworld, but the painful death of the young man made me remember what my own grandfather told me many decades ago.

“Fiudi, muriu, muka wene na mahiu mene ni magambo. Utonga ni matigari ma ndaa, tiga ihenya. Na uririkanage, indo icokanagiririo kahora muriu, tina muririmboka wa ta mwaki wa nyeki.”

(Fiudi, son, a man’s wife and his property are a no-go. Wealth is what you are left with after you eat, so stop rushing for easy-come riches. And always remember, real wealth is accumulated gradually, son, not with the fiery haste of a grass fire.)

RIP Mose.

15 Likes

Exactly the words my Grand Father told me. Vijana wa hii Kijiji should learn from that.

Mbisha!!!

Admin, seriously why is it that on this site sometimes I can’t edit what I’ve posted? And its not that am using a phone, but a HP Envy i5…

those are 1 too many outlets …lakini hii Nairobi imekuwa instant justice capital…

FP unataka mbisha ya mboro yangu ufap nayo? Tumia zile Piranha (wooooooooooi, Jehova mimi kwisha!) alipost hapa kabla nijipige…shenji!

Mayeks ebu tupe hekaya. Unataka kufa na uhondo wote kwanini?

My gramdfather was stupid. He told us, " Thoma wandikwo wira".

17 Likes

That part about matigari ma nda was also mentioned by my late grandpa…truer words have never been spoken

Good work guks, that was the old klist spirit, somewhere you logged in to get a news angle you couldn’t get anywhere else .
But just to ask, was he sampling someone’s dish? You have mixed up so many probabilities at the end.

Mathaais, I do not have real info in the case but the grapevine in LA has elements of several angles

Juzi tu another young man barely in his 30s alichinjwa Gatundu forest he was immensely wealthy

Ngòma ìno ùgù tù huwezi? Serrrreeee!

But Siwesmind eggplant yako:p
http://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/2931556/highRes/1159064/-/maxw/600/-/so6ki0/-/muchangi.jpg

Nice post

Was he sampling goods of another dude ama what are you implying hapo mwisho??? He had 350 mpesa shops??? Jesu!! How do you keep track of all that?? Gare zote za Rasasi zilikua zake??

I read of someones’ account of how he was murdered… The killers were of somali origin and they were two… The witness said that according to him, they wanted money but it happened so fast that within no time they had killed him… I hear the place he was shot at is just a few blocks from a police station…sad man… I also heard he was a cool guy RIP

Masonko si wana shida aki.

Mzee stop having tunnel vision. Nimequote vile babu alisema, didn’t say the jamaa was kidinying anybody.

As for the Rasasis, no, not all vehicles are his. He owns the label and stage licence so people just use the brand and pay his company 1K a day.

A lot of folks acquire wealth through dubious means and they live long, healthy, wealthy lives. One only needs to do a SWOT analysis of every venture and then hope for the best. We are all going to die anyway.

I know a couple of people (read kanges) whose feathers he ruffled the wrong way… business related, but not in a nice way.
A dark part of me says he had it coming.

Sad. Human beings and their complexity.

Hii Nairobi ukicheza na Mali ya wanaume utakufa haraka upesi