The closest we had to Franco

Hii wimbo ni Safi saana by Madilu System. When he died iliniuma sana. Getting a closure was a struggle.

I like anapoipeleka mdogo mdogo na huyo mama mzito.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJdBJxGctd8

He was a great vocalist and composer.

Am very green matters rhumba… @Abba give me your top ten list

Again I ask, why dont Kenyans appreciate their own???

Did you cry when Daudi Kabaka died?

Did you cry when Sukuma bin Ongaro or Misiani died?

You probably think that Luhya musicians are inferior. You are just as brainwashed as @uwesmake who is in love with Nelly.

And I am 100% sure that you don’t even understand Lingala so why are you crying about songs that you don’t even comprehend???:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Hata wewe sidhani unaelewa lingala so how do you know that this person is a great composer yet you don’t understand the words he has composed??? :D:D

You don’t know what the guy is singing about yet you have called him a great composer. What if he is insulting people’s mothers in that song?

Mwingine ni @rexxsimba he does not understand a single word of Lingala but he is a great fan of that music.

Ukimwekea nyimbo za Kijaluo hataki. Sijui he’ll say that they don’t know how to play the guitar.

You like this music because your dad liked this music. But even he didn’t understand a single word being sang!

You will find young Kenyans loving amapiano na hata hawajui ni nini inasemwa hapo. Labda hata mnatukanwa na hamjui.

I know a bit of Lingala and French. I understand what they sing about

Did sukuma bin Ongaro die or he got saved?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4Qw-Wai-F0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ySHLafN9Bw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ocJsnjPvW1U

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bjv4Eoa1o40

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIIdakm7T90

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=km2JQ3-xfJ4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVJN1u4VWj4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BS36ehAsPo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jCg4giPYQoI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUaMEARE-2E

To be honest this is the first time am listening to a dibango song…I know the name dibango but I don’t think kbc played his songs that much back in the day. No. 7 was very common when were kids back in the 80s.
Am surprised you have no space for papa wemba

You restricted me to 10

What is Madilu singing about in this specific song, na usi google?

Congolese music gives you much more than just the content of its lyrics…it uplifts your mood and makes you dance without really caring about what the musician is singing about.The heavy percussion background makes them very relatable and danceable. For me I love African music because of the beat…or is it rhythm ( afrobeat)?..message is important but not the most important in some of the compositions. Obsession with lyrics is very eurocentric. Hapa Africa we can beat drums silly, play orutu or isukuti and still enjoy our music.

Can’t say further. People are just white washed, outright stupid and would prefer to listen to some silly ass rock music because it’s white oriented and forget about their own African music.

Having said that, even if music is sang in pygmies’ language and it makes me feel it… so what… ? I’m in my bubble and i like my bubble… I don’t have to know what they say but I want to feel it. To me that’s more important and authentic than lyrics itself.
“So stay on your own curve and enjoy your white music and let us enjoy our own curve of music that we don’t know lyrics” @mikel ambia hiyo python my message. I had to unignore to see whose sniffing in my docket only to realize is a bitter low IQ imbecile from a looser MAGA world.

You’re very right, we really underrate our musicians of the time.
Some of the musicians you’ve mentioned had cult following in Southern Africa countries.

Nothing from house of Verckys Kiamungana ? Amateur !

I know him but his stuff didn’t move me. One’s meat is another’s poison :D:D:D he would make it to my top 20 not 10…

You are wrong…a typical rhumba fan is first and foremost a very huge fan of several local/ village artists…and their support is usually fanatical such that they host and support events by those artists…my uncles love rhumba and have even learnt lingala language but they are also huge fans of local artists such as sila wa sila, emmanuel musindi and pius wafula. Try booking someone like emmanuel musindi and you will realise just how busy the dude is…and almost all his functions are in Western Kenya where rhumba and lingala are also very popular. Typical rhumba fans usually congregate at select city and village joints where they pay local artists to perform and thereafter listen to their favourite rhumba anthems. In eastlands we used to have Roddy’s and Harry’s where rhumba and local artists played…am sure we have many more…in my village we have tororo and eddy’s…they have a good mix of rhumba and local helpings.

Naona list si mbaya

Speak for Yourself , Dummy …
Assumptions are dangerous …

I am not addressed as Doctor for nothing …

Unlike You , I am from a multi-lingual background and have some knowledge of several African , European and Asian dialects …

Meanwhile , enjoy the song , properly … :D:D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2788zHaLb_E