The Case for Parliamentary System of Government

[COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)][FONT=verdana]I saw this article by Kisumu Governor Prof Anyang Nyong. I totally do not agree with it. Our problem in Kenya is mindset and values we have as a nation. Even if we change to what system of governance we will still have the problems bedeviling us or even at worst proportion. Like the case of parliamentary system where the MPs can easily be bought to vote for a certain individual.[/FONT]

https://www.the-star.co.ke/siasa/2019-05-12-presidential-system-to-blame-for-entrenched-corruption-impunity/?fbclid=IwAR16oEwDWIIrd0xDsyZgiW2vNcRnCi1fg_22H-AXZCe_MRzPlNLFclKfjGY

[SIZE=6]GOVERNANCE[/SIZE]
[SIZE=7]Presidential system to blame for entrenched corruption, impunity[/SIZE]
[SIZE=5]What becomes law is entirely dependent on a partisan President?[/SIZE]
In Summary
• The problem is that counties have been denied access to these resources due to the powers wielded by the Executive
• The attraction of the parliamentary system of government is that it will do away with this concentration of executive power

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/WEA70UD078fArYWliZrX6hLyfR_1jsKXBz2asockJI7H0z3Effb1RCK0EJFhl_YCQb0B1Pw-mpwkRXzaomedwtWVDzY=s512
Members of the National assembly at Parliament./File
The elephant in the room in Kenyans’ debate on constitutional reforms is the presidency, the pinnacle in the Executive wing of the government.
This has been an issue since Independence. In fact, when we abandoned the parliamentary system in favour of the presidential system in 1964, the argument given was that we needed a strong presidency for purposes of national unity. The same argument was given at the advent of the one-party system then. National unity has been elusive. The strong presidency has yielded little developmental dividends compared to our independence age mates in South East Asia.
It did not take long before some of the architects of the strong presidency and the one-party system started to regret. That single-party system and the strong president started to imprison political opponents without trial. Newspapers and books were banned at the whims of a few at the top. Opponents from within and without the single party were occasionally assassinated or disappeared mysteriously. Clinging to dear life some, like myself, voted with their feet into exile.

Kenyans heroically resisted this misrule and political oppression. It was not until 1991 that the one-party system caved in after tremendous internal and external pressure. The advent of multiparty politics was not a gift from Moi: It was a victory by the democratic social forces. But the gains of multiparty politics had one drawback: They were grafted on top of an all-powerful presidency which undermined these gains for yet another ten years!
In 2002, when the National Rainbow Coalition won elections against President Daniel Moi’s Kanu and stopped Uhuru Kenyatta from succeeding him, the institution of the all-powerful presidency remained intact as Mwai Kibaki took the reins of power.
Very soon Kenyans realised that the evils of the old system were easily imported into the Narc regime: Corruption (Anglo Leasing); impunity (the Executive easily ignored the Bomas of Kenya resolutions on constitutional reform) and soon the only democratic way to change governments through elections fell victim to the machinations for the survival of the all powerful presidency.
When the opposition challenged this state of affairs by defeating the government at the 2005 constitutional referendum as well as in the 2007 elections, presidential impunity was carried a notch higher by subverting the works of the Electoral Commission of Kenya and causing total confusion in the reporting and counting of the results of the poll. The famous comments by the then ECK chairman Samuel Kivuitu at the KICC tallying centre, dramatically expressed his frustration with the state-induced sabotage when he said: “I don’t know what is happening; these results are being cooked somewhere!”
From then on, chaos and violence followed. Hundreds of people were killed and thousands rendered homeless. Kenyans were only saved from civil war by Pan-African and international intervention that called for drastic political, economic, constitutional and legal reforms to lay firm foundations for democratic government and socioeconomic progress that would be inclusive and not vulnerable to the kind of post-election violence of 2007-08. This was the logic behind the 2010 Constitution.
One major achievement of the new Constitution was devolution. Kenyans achieved the following through devolution. One, inclusiveness: All Kenyans now feel they have their own government that they elect and one that serves their local needs. Democracy has been devolved to the grassroots through devolution. Two, the awful distance between the individual and political power has been drastically reduced. It is now easier to hold an MCA and the governor accountable because they are basically with the people. Three, resources which were previously a preserve of the centre are now at the periphery because county governments have constitutional obligation to perform certain functions “down there.”
The problem, however, is that counties have been denied access to these resources due to the powers wielded by the Executive. The structure of the Executive is such that it will continue to behave with impunity because it is not really answerable to Parliament. What of a Cabinet that cannot be questioned on the floor of the House and a chief executive who is under no obligation to implement decisions of Parliament, even when they have been passed into law?

What becomes law is entirely dependent on a partisan President?
In the debates on the reforms we need in Kenya, it is very clear that the corruption and impunity that have been on the rise notwithstanding the new Constitution are all due to the enormous presidential powers that are still protected and nurtured by the supreme law.
The attraction of the parliamentary system of government is that it will do away with this concentration of executive power which is detrimental to our democratic and economic development. The power will now be vested in a much more diverse and democratic institution called Parliament. Power gets deconcentrated not by the number of individuals who populate the presidency (first to even third deputy president; first to second prime minister etc) but by how power is shared and institutionalised among three institutions: the presidency, parliament and devolved government (currently called counties).
While putting our hope in Parliament, we must also change the way we elect our MPs. First, the idea of single constituency first past the goal post mode of electing MPs must be dropped. Instead, we will have proportional representation based on the strength of political parties which will be assigned seats on the basis of the proportion of votes each party gets in an election.
Second, the way a Prime Minister is chosen will also be based on who heads the most popular party or coalition of political parties in Parliament. Such a PM will then form a government representative of the nation as a whole the way it is done in Switzerland. In other words, all parties in Parliament are represented in government in proportion to the number of MPs they get. If we do this, we shall have inclusivity as well as a better chance for national cohesion.
We are also much more likely to avoid the terrible phenomenon of the rigging of votes and post-election violence that can easily follow such electoral bad manners.

Is it true that Janelle Monae and Lupita are dating? Niliona they came out as a couple

@langatkipro it will work if we go the Britain system. Lakini Raia should recall their MPigs and Mrats at will. Hii story ya kujiongeza mshahara we recall them asap. IEBC ikuwe ina leta election after 3 weeks when we recall them. Hapa kazi ya MPigs na Mrats ni representation, oversight na legislation. Hapa MPigs na Mrats will hold P.M makende.
Halafu we make it hard for two tribes to form a majority. Let’s put the elective seats at 329 as an example to form the government you need 245 seats. So hapa Gathecha hakuna vile angeform the government na Kura za shineyes na kalenjin.
Hapa raia ndio tutakuwa tuna shaft MPigs na Mrats bila lube. Kwanza county to be merged and make it no tribe can form simple majority. 47 county tuwe na 16 county. Kiambu,masaku, mandauwoo na ilovi washikanishwe to form Nairobi metropolitan.
Hapa raia ndio mwenye nchi wakileta nyef nyef we send them to political oblivion.

Stop derailing the thread ama ni mapema hawajafungua sophia joy.

Reduce the powers of the executive then we complain the president is not dong things that require his office to have power. Kenya needs a dictator juu tumeonyesha when we are too free we become reckless.

What is it that Uhuru has been unable to do because of reduced executive powers? Isn’t his government the same one ignoring court orders? Does he obey the law as it is for you to claim that the constitution is the problem?

I agree with O.P our problem is not laws or lack thereof, but our values. We take lightly the disregard of existing laws.

Please read your comment slowly and carefully. The answer lies therein.

We are so much after changing the System, but remain with the same players, different forests, same monkeys.
Hata leo hii, if that revolution was to happen, we will still end up with tribal king pins. Akina agwambo, ruto, joho and politicians who failed to capture political seats in the last election. The likes of karua, Kenneth and so forth.

Look at PM wa British she was on remain but now she is driving leave agenda. Lazima mraiya wakubali vile wanasema. Si ka Kenya MPigs are for their own stomach.
Hapa hakula vile MPigs ataloose his job when the executive blunders. Here we will be killing two birds with a single stone. When we recall them the PM will lose the mandate coz Hana the required number to form the government. To add onto that we abolish women rapist na nomination. We can afford to pay 16 senyetor.
Here the leaders will be servant. [SIZE=7]Hii katiba mbichi tunabomoa.[/SIZE]

K

He who comes to equity should come with clean hands. If he is ignoring laws, why has he not tackled the problems we have as Kenyans? Why do we still have problems despite him being a dictator?

I don’t know what you are talking about but I know the president says those named in corruption must step aside but what do our honourable courts do? The tell Swazuri he can go back to his office and the next day we hear what? Computers containing incriminating evidence have been stolen…

Same monkeys different trees

If he ignores other court orders, why obey the one allowing Swazuri to go back to office? Stop making excuses for Uhuru. In other words, I am saying our laws are not the problem but our values. When he disobeyed court orders, he exemplified our true values, not the ones written in the constitution. When Moses Kuria, Raila Odinga, Babu Owino and others I have not mentioned use foul language, it shows our true colours. The constitution or our laws are not the problem, it is our general behaviour as a people.

Kenyans are not principled. That is why even those revolutions which @maizeroaster keeps taliking about will not happen.

Don’t bother bro, don’t bother.

As for changes to the governance structure, you can change this a million times but as long as the principle of one man, one vote is upheld, the ‘Kikuyu’ will still dominate for the foreseeable future. By the Kikuyu of course I mean the 6/7 Mt Kenya communities who always vote as a block.

The new Katiba was meant to tame these communities by devolving power and diluting their economic stranglehold but what has happened? Virtually all the Mt Kenya counties are growing at a rate faster than 90 per cent of the others, and the disparity between say Kiambu and Migori is growing by the day. This is why the Lord of Poverty is starting to say, lets collapse the counties and from regional blocks.

The Mt Kenya counties have a third of all MPs so what will happen if we go for a Parliamentary system? Every PM will be a ‘Kikuyu’ and the nonsense for ‘inclusion’ will start all over again.

The solution to all this nonsense of course is better governance at the county level. But why agitate for that when the Kikuyu/Kalenjin bogeymen Uhuruto are such an attractive target?

Mwarimo hapa we citizen tukiamua we do away with greedy judiciary. We petition the MPigs they form tribunal we send them to oblivion.

You have a point. If only you could work to remove the ‘Messiah Condition’ from yourself. No one person can solve a stupid peoples’ problems…

Actually I was coming to tell you to stop arguing the way you are because the president is Uhuru. Even if we have another president and the courts’ demeanour remains the same we will have the same (non)results.

The other day I was beginning to think about the revolution fellas have been talking about here until one of them posted that wakifanya revolution watafanya wakikuyu wa lie low nikasema ooo kumbe?
The kenya citizenry is too stupid and myopic; even those who have gone to school.

What will this parliamentary system bring considering the decision making will primarily be left to those MPIGs who are bought for as little as 10k to make crucial decisions? And they do not care about anybody except themselves and themselves only!