For a whole year there wasnt a procurement officer in the civil service
In the early 2020’s it is our turn to have enough
Kenyans have suffered for ages on the hands of their own… they have paid regional incomparable hospital charges… The government has also paid doctors handsomely compared to others in the region
There’s need to geographically delimit recruitment of doctors. Let Kenya employ any competent doctor from any country in the world. Let Kenya state its salary, and invite anyone who thinks the salary is attractive to apply.
This country cannot be held hostage by a small group who probably are not sober… provision of health is a critial issue in any country and any attemptto sabotage it is an act of terrorism, and the policy still holds; we do not negotiate with terrorists.
Lets have more cuban doctors, more ugandan, more ethiopian, more tanzanian, zambian, zimbabwe …and lets tell the kenyans who feel they are not being appreciated to go look for work elsewhere …and we fast track the processes watuondokee
you are the epitome of daftness, I have never had the opportunity of ever conversing with an extremely eccentric individual with an IQ of a stencil who thinks he is superior to his fellow Africans based on his academic credential and aplastic Arabian skin. you continuously bog members with unsubstantiated claims of superiority yet adhere to Neanderthal tactics aligned to your Cushitic bushman tendencies. I WEEP OVER YOR SHALLLOW AND RETROGRESSIVE POST .
May anyone who agrees with your claim stand equally judged.
@Bingwa Scrotum the only way to deal with this greediness. Is we give doctors contract based on performance ndio ina kuwa renewed. No opening of private clinics since it will be breach of contract.
Halafu kukuwe na suggestion box on how the patient appraise them. This is the only way our public civil servants will be redeemed. Hii story Mtu ana fanya kazi milele ati hawezi futwa kazi.
This is a bit rich. How can a doctor, even the most competent one, be effective in a hospital without drugs, barely functional diagnostic tools, NHIF barely covers bills, and even theatres which operate at KPLC’s whim? Even those doctors from Cuba, Zimbabwe or even Mars will soon be up in arms. The rot in healthcare in this country goes far beyond “doctors’ greed”.
kwendeni! …pesa yetu inafford serious and better doctors than yall …fews years ago mumeletewa machines from General Electric na bado mnalia ohhh equipment na mishahara… kwendeni kabisa. Time is up for terrorists
You still haven’t answered: how will those serious and good doctors work in a hospital that is barely functional and a health system that is poorly funded and soaked in corruption? The KEMSA scam is exhibit A of the graft and rot in the healthcare system in this country, if at all it qualifies to be called a system. Or these doctors you are talking about ni the “mganga maarufu kutoka Arusha” types?
Kwanza the Cuban doctors are the greediest of all. Some of them are not even specialists as such, the family doctors for instance do not offer a service that’s unique from an intern.
The Cubans, all 100 of them, were absorbed into job group S where they earn Ksh 880,000 per month in addition to “furnished homes, air fares during their annual leave, paid utilities and transport from both national and county governments.”
What a slap in the face to Kenyan doctors who are born, raised, and schooled in the Kenyan system! I doubt if Cuban doctors have any salary delays, so you see, the government can behave well if they choose to but their colonial mindset which values fair skinned people over darker toned citizens cannot allow for that.
I told you wewe umekuwa away for too long hujui how zeroes we have as doctors here… ni pombe na malaya tu wanajua
we have suffered with perennial misdiagnosis as if hawakwenda shule
A slap in the face falls short of what these people deserve… they need to be put on a stake and a fire to follow
we rather have no doctors than perennial cry babies who dont deserve any sympathy nor penny above what they earn and above all the deaths they have caused
They even killed their own colleague according to the picture i posted jna
Professional incompetence is something that should be addressed by medical licensing boards. It’s unfortunate but certainly not the doctors’ fault if medical school didn’t prepare them adequately for clinical practice. Although I believe those cases are few and far between. It sounds like you’ve had a personal experience with an unfavorable outcome, which happens all over the world. Doctors are not all-knowing gods. They have human limitations but I believe their heart is in the right place.
This idea that entire groups are intrinsically good and should therefore be above reproach (in Kenya it’s the judiciary or the medics) is why we have problems
Bingwa is right, misdiagnosis is common and a big reason for this situation is that doctors essentially self regulate thanks to thinking like yours being common.
Doctors are not even on strike at the moment. You cannot go to private facilities and then purport to complain of high prices. Public hospitals are the cheapest you can get. Government is seriously underfunding and understaffing public hospitals. Compel your government to improve public hospitals. No one will visit private.
It is just that simple. Your whining is misplaced.