The Bourne Legacy - A Classic Read

Just realised I’ve never read the last entry in the JB series. Until now.

Borne identity ilikuwa moto. Ushasoma the ottoman weekend by R. Ludlum

Ludlum was a great writer. I loved his books so much that I once wrote to him a letter expressing my contentment with his writing.

I think I might know why you settled on Damon as your username.

As with all cities worldwide, the rich people live in the west. Nani atafungua embassy Eastlando? :joy:

By Form 3 I had read Bourne Identity, Bourne Supremacy and Bourne Ultimatum

Sasa unataka medal ama? Everyone had read those books after the snoresfest that was Romeo and Juliet.. always wondered who thought Shakespeare was a good book for 16 year old boys pale kwa Ministry of Education.

And I still remember Alex Conklin the CIA guy who mentored Jason. He had a limp that took him out of the field.
As for Shakespeare, hehehe hapo iko siasa sugu that is beyond MoE. UK has been the largest donor to MoE and they influence such decisions l. By picking Shakespeare, a UK publisher makes serious pounds

You correctly say after, I read before the snorefest. In Form 1 I was wading through Petals of Blood albeit painfully

Same here. I wonder why they left out Ilich Ramirez Sanchez from the movies. He was a major character in the books.

My main takeaway from this average book is that the American police/federal agents are telepathic, and had 2000s era technology (databases, algorithms, firewalls, mobile phones) in the early to mid 1970s when Jomo Kenyatta was still alive.

This Eric van Lustbader must have written this book while on drugs.

It is clear that without Carlos there is no Jason. That’s why the movies feel incomplete

Because they were there. In the 1920’s Germany was testing wireless telephony in trains

Do you know what computers looked like in the 1970s? They used to occupy entire rooms and used vacuum tubes and punch cards.. and the internet (arpamet) was limited to tesearch places like NASA and MIT.

Does this look like something that can be hacked into like in that bullshit hacking scene?

It’s called fiction. Even then there was research on minimising their size and that’s what the author used. Writing such a novel requires lots of research. Some of these writers are commissioned for three years with paid for retreats and research assistants to write the books.

Fiction rules need to make sense in their own universe. If I wrote a book about maumau and started inserting mpesa transactions, you’d stop reading it immediately and throw it in a dumpster fire. That’s how this feels to me at least.

Fiction must have its own internal logic. The Bourne series has its internal logic. Your maumau case would fail the logic test because maumau existed at a defined time and space in history with limited resources and technology. CIA is a different thing.

Since Jomo is still alive in this book, the setting for it is therefore in the early to mid 1970s. The technology however, is post 2000’s.

Therefore, this page is complete bullshit.

This what computers were using in the 1970s.

You miss the point. There is reality and artistic/fictional reality. Let’s start with reality. What you call post 2000 tech applies to what is available to the public. It is widely accepted that the espionage world has more advanced tach not available to the public, and CIA is a leading player together with Mossad in espionage tech. Now, given this myth, we can transport it to fictional reality and claim it as a reality. In other words, fictional reality feeds from reality. Can we import such a reality unit maumau fictional reality?