That Day in Your Life Time Stood Still...........

When I look back, the day that stood still for me was when, at around 12.00pm, VOK started playing martial music and then announced the death of President Mzee Jomo Kenyatta. It was August 22, 1978.

My mother and I, as well as my five-year old younger sister, were in the shamba at the foothills of the Aberdares. My mother, in a white/blue leso, was weeding potatoes planted in neat rows which had started flowering with pink and white flowers when the announcement was made.

I remember the exact spot where we were - on a slightly elevated piece of ground where the potatoes were not doing very well. Metres away was a a small crater, now full of maturity potatoes, made a British bomb 25 years early during the Mau Mau war (if you grew up in the Aberdares you saw a lot of these)

When the announcement was made, mama just stood there, dazed. She didn’t speak for what seemed hours and just stared at our National radio, neatly covered with a small, hand-made table-cloth. It scared the hell out of me and I guess my sister too. We had never seen my mother so shaken.

“Mamie, sasa Kenya kutakuwa vita kama Uganda?” I asked.

To her everlasting credit, mama’s first instinct was to comfort us.

“No, no,” she said, her voice unsure. “The government will choose another president and Kenya will go on”.

Then quickly she collected everything and we left the shamba. We ate some lunch of rice and a vegetable stew (potatoes, carrots and peas, all from our shamba) and listened to the radio for the rest of the day.

The other day I drove to the Aberdares to see our old house (see picture), and pay homage to the cradle that nurtured me.

The house is crumbling now (ferk KFS, which owns the property),[ATTACH=full]62037[/ATTACH] but the grass is still green. The chimney still stands, and the memories of those glorious care-free days still roam my mind. Especially that day, 38 years ago, when time stood still.

[I][B]GUKA

PS: It is a testament to the professionalism of the first government of this republic that these buildings, which were built in the 1960s, still stand today. The iron tin roofs are not even rusted, and the masonry is as good as new. The back of this house, where our kitchen was, has however crumbled.[/B][/I]

I would have thought the day time stood still was when you went for your prostate exam?

#fieldmarshaljokes

Guka si hii ni repeat thread?

Probably uko fote something

Time stood still the day field marshal killed the last dinosaur.

Dementia tings!

Kwani tuko primary school ati ni composition tunaandika…brareHEKE

[ATTACH=full]62041[/ATTACH]

Kabisa…

My official age is 64 years. Just because I am talking of my mama here doesn’t mean I am young. And yes, mama is still alive!

Time stood still the day Fieldmarshall played dead at Thermopylae

#googlethatshitbitch

Niaje Coomernina

Pole. Can’t remember doing it. As I said, dementia tings!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D! Tusizoeane tafasari!

Time stood still the day Fieldmarshall read about cialis.

@biraru please go slow on Guka, pengine battery iko on count down mode. Peace be with you @fieund macho

By the way my bae @aviator knows exactly where these houses are. She grew up just 5km away…

At 26 bado unauliza your mum if Kenya itakuwa na vita kama Uganda na ulisomea Alliance high school and UON? At 26 you should have been done with Campus unless ulikuwa Chiromo taking med.
No offense but your mum should have been asking you that as the most learned in the family

Back in 2007/08 skirmishes was in Rift Valley,Kericho visiting relatives… After the anouncement houses started being torched left and right, Muryaat (rat) ,used to call him rat coz he was experienced in catching them,my uncles handy man rushed into the main house and told us that the Laibon were assembling in large numbers singing war songs. Damn the confusion that followed as we tried to puck our belongings and rush to the nearest police station…
Suddenly there was chanting and a loud bang at the gate then it was ripped into two as throng of youths armed with bows and arrows and machetes ran towards the main house…
Muryaat stopped them and told them my uncle was a Giriama from Coast … though he had married a Meru…
The commandant a mean looking man like Idris Elba seemed convinced and signalled the crowd to the next compound which unfortunately belonged to the late Dr. Wahome…
This was where the Doc and his wife met their death through the hands of the ruthless Laibon warriours…
We all wept and fortunately Muryaat managed to save the late wahomes 3kids who had no clue of what was going on…whom were later picked by some top gov official who came escorted with a convoy of Military personnal cars…Needlesstosay they torched Wahomes house…
The morning after the estate had been reduced to ashes and many people displaced…My uncle resigned from his job thereafter and relocated to Coast where he lives a quiet life and still disturbed by the events…
Time stood still for me when a 'prayer’rally was held in Afraha to celebrate the termination of Rutos ICC case

Time stood still for Fieldmarshal the day he realised the * button on a phone isn’t a butthole.

That day of serikali iko mikononi mwa wanajeshi,I also remember vividly where I was. Like you guka i can pinpoint the exact point I was listening to grown up discussing thirikari niyagaruruo…