Back when i was in high school we used to call radios tenje…or the sheng reference for radio was tenje… “asha tenje msee…”(That is late 90’s early 00’s)
So whose the new school idiot that decided tenje is no longer radio but a phone?? It sounds so lame and confusing. Msee siku moja alikaa akasema apana wacha simu ndio ikuwe tenje yet simu ilikuwa already na jina nangos…?
Sigh, the youth of nowadays
Sheng’ ni dynamic. Sio Static.
chorea pia means different now.
Doesnt mean Lenga??
Each generation and sub generation always thinks their sheng is the better one.
tulikua tunaita radio “palito”
sheng’ nowadays is very dynamic. from enzi za dinga to ndae and to the present morenga or the @Andrew Kibe way moti
nowadays kuconniwa ni kucheswa ama kupigwa dafrao
sheng huchange kila siku
Palito was a fm radio receiver brand .Simple functional thing just the buttons one needed.It was so nice .Compare that with the huge headphones that youngsters have on their heads nowadays.
Kuna siku niliona a lady driving with headphones :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: hii Nairobi.
I don’t who sent you, but you have revived memories I never thought existed. You have reminded me of the first and most sentimental radio I’ve ever owned. Although after a few months, the radio stopped working and I had to buy a new one, which also expired and so did the subsequent ones.
Thank you sir.
…and you’re a fan of Futurama. Nice.
‘Cheza kama wewe’
Pambana na hali yako
Nijenge ya macho
Hio riba haina kelele
Acha za mbaya mbaya
Nitakudunga
So confusing to these Tanzanians:D
:D:D:D ume ni mada
-Para used to mean something like a personality ,right now para ni kofia!!
-pori used to mean wilderness now it means a wallet.
- mbulu used to mean:hakuna shida now it means T.v eg i visited my cousin in Umoja and he told me tukiwa hapo sitting room "mseh si uwashe mbulu,i was like does he mean weed or what?!
Ama kuoshwa
Man that show was so good, they had to cancel it twice!
bado tunaiita tu tenje ata rununu pia ni tenje nangos nii ya juzijuzi
Morenga, naskia ma teenager wa 1990 walikuwa wanasema Morenga. Nothing new there.
The Sheng I remember from highschool. (early 2000s). I don’t know how much they’ve changed:
Kriba, crisps
Hewa, music
Waka, get drunk
Dinga, car
Poko, whore
Keja, cubicle
Shuge, sugar
Steady, have an erection
DF, unexposed guy from rural areas
Kinai, finished ( also correct Swahili)/
Toja, trouser/
Ngotha, underwear
BB, blueband
Muro, githeri
Sembe, Ugali
radar, understand/
anti-radar, slow to understand/
shore (shorty), girl/
Funky, school outing/
Manga, eat or have sex/
Dema, eat
Fizo, physics
Mao, maths
Dwanzi, idiot
Nyap or Senye, pussy
Choppy, clever student
Depa, deputy
Prinsi, principal
Dingo, thief
DH, dining hall
Bu, school bus
Kapu, Captain
Wode, water
Juo or jua, juice
Bika, biscuit
Breko, breakfast
Deki, a long call
Nyora, short call
Pano, punishment
Oboho, tough guy from a poor neighbourhood
Babi, rich kids
Ubabini, rich neighbourhood
Weida, muscular
Fyam, Amazing, awesome
Noma, trouble or difficulty
This thing they call mjelubeng (or something like that) nowadays, what name did it go by in those days (late '90s-early '2000s)…I have been trying to recall for like a month now but I just seem not able to