Teaching in International Schools in Kenya

Who has ever taught or knows someone who’s taught in an international School in Kenya? The likes of Brookhouse, peponi schools, braeburn, etc. What was the experience teaching there, how much are high school teachers paid and are there any benefits teaching in such schools?

Kuna demu yangu alikuwa anafunza Peponi school Juja. Mshande ilikuwa kitu 80k per month in 2007. Sijui kama waliongeza

Peponi gani iyo iko juja:cool:hajauliza gachororo primo:cool:

:D:D alikuwa ghost

Teaching uko is great. Everything is organized. All I can say is roughly half the teachers( senior ones) have cars.

If you get that opportunity usilale. It is a great one.

Easy to say this until you’re dealing with kids who can’t be disciplined the normal way, and are also wealthier than yourself. The inherent authority a teacher has over the students is challenged a bit in these environments as the children are aware of the socio-economic dynamics that affect the teacher’s authority. Any fallout with a student can easily escalate and work out badly for the teacher if the parent is wealthy and/or powerful.

I’m not saying the job isn’t possible, I’m saying that the difficult kids will be more of a headache in such institutions compared to govt/regular schools. I think it’ll come down to the subject itself.

I can clearly see amesema “everything is organised”…huko mtoto akifanya makosa you clearly forward it to the necessary person in charge na inafuatiliwa you don’t need to raise even your voice just note it and forward it

You seem to know the answer to your question, so why waste elders time nvchieth?

Not exactly. Believe it or not, parents there have an inherent will to see their kids succeed. Just like any other parent. Don’t fall for the stuff you see on media ati life is easy for kids there. Wanasoma na wanagradiwa. Some colleges in the west use those grades for admission. They have disciplinary procedures for academics and behavior that are followed to the T. Mtoi akileta nyoko nyoko, other parents don’t want him near their kid. He’s shown the door.

I have a friend teaching at Deutsche Schule Nairobi and she hates every bit of it. Kenyans are paid a local salary while whites are paid an expatriate salary and she says the work environment is toxic beyond belief.

Boss in my high school some teacher who had come from a national school dared “discipline” a classmate physically. I’m not sure if he was even a month old at the school by that time. He was dismissed the very next day. Kuna mentality zingine huwezi peleka shule zingine.