so you have met Taita the genius.
KBL adverts of yore
[ATTACH=full]85275[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]85276[/ATTACH]
Likoni ferry C 1940s
[ATTACH=full]85277[/ATTACH]
i am the reincarnation:)the ultimate magus…
[ATTACH=full]85278[/ATTACH]
all vehicles used to have this road licence, cant remember ilitolewa lini but it was before NTSA arrived on the scene
hii kitu mnaiita kwenu
[ATTACH=full]85279[/ATTACH]
Donald Avenue Naks
[ATTACH=full]85280[/ATTACH]
@coldpilsner tuambie inaitwaaje leo
[ATTACH=full]85281[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]85282[/ATTACH]
sokoni karatina
Eye shiners of the 80-90s. I remember a girl once threatened me by telling me her uncle was “Rasta”
[ATTACH=full]85283[/ATTACH]
Petrol heads kujeni tena, which car would you like to own
pia watu wa Footsubishi mnakubaliwa kucomment
[ATTACH=full]85288[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]85289[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]85290[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]85291[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]85292[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]85293[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]85294[/ATTACH]
Pure blood
[ATTACH=full]85295[/ATTACH]
#Bringback @Wakanyama
[ATTACH=full]85296[/ATTACH]
C: 1940s
The road that straddles KRA building and Central Bank of Kenya, which also connects Harambee and Haile Selassie Avenues was known as General Smuts Avenue, named after leader of apartheid South Africa in the early 20th century.
General Smuts sent forces to help the British in East Africa fight the Germans in Tanganyika during WW1.
General Smuts Avenue was later renamed Lt. Tumbo Avenue.
In case you are wondering, Lt. Tumbo was a Kenya Army officer killed in action during Kenya’s shifta war in the 1960s.
Wabera Street was also named after an Isiolo D.C. killed in the same shifta war. Before his killing, Wabera Street was known as Elliot Street, named after Sir Charles Elliot, who until 1904 was a Commissioner General of British East Africa.
Also, Jogoo Road in Eastlands was known as Donhoolm Road. Donhoolm was a British settler who owned a huge sisal plantation that stretched from where Donhoolm estate stands today, to the area around Ruai.
Kimathi Street on the other hand was Hardinge Street, named after Sir Arthur Hardinge, who was the first British administrator of British East Africa at the end of the 19th century.
Did you also know that Haile Selassie Avenue was known as Whitehouse Avenue? George Whitehouse was a British engineer who helped oversee construction of the Uganda railway.
Now you know.
Photocopy courtesy of Nyeri Museum
[ATTACH=full]85303[/ATTACH]
Snr. Chief Njiiri with Sir Richard Turnbull (r), Kenya’s Chief Secretary, in Murang’a, 1955. Njiiri, who donated the land on which Njiiris School stands and was said to be the richest man in central Kenya at the time, married his 30th wife in church in 1964.
During the emergency, the colonial government protected him and his family. This is one man on whom the Queen vested Member Of The British Empire (MBE) medal.
[ATTACH=full]85306[/ATTACH]
Cabinet Minister Robert Matano chooses to ride a donkey cart with a mounted ministerial flag instead of a limo.
He was well known for his humility and high sense of integrity…
He was fired as a minister over the radio in 1985.
[ATTACH=full]85308[/ATTACH]
ndiri na muthi,
That drive in cinema ni pale Mathare North thika road
Professor Simeon Hongo Ominde the don who came up with the 7.4.2.3 system of education at independence.
The aim of 7.4.2.3 was to accelerate the Africanisation of the Kenyan economy by producing literate Africans at various stages to take over from the Europeans.
It was scrapped in 1985 and replaced with the 8.4.4 system .
He was appointed a lecturer at Makerere in 1955 at the age of 31 and professor in 1964 when he joined university College Nairobi.
[ATTACH=full]85309[/ATTACH]
Courtesy of Odhiambo Levin Opiyo
https://www.facebook.com/opiyo.levin?fref=ts
[FONT=Helvetica][COLOR=rgb(29, 33, 41)][SIZE=14px][/SIZE][/FONT]
Mr Titus Mbathi was among the first Kambas to obtain a University degree and the first African to be appointed community development officer by the colonial government.
[ATTACH=full]85310[/ATTACH]
cc: @vuja de