Tanzania again!

[SIZE=5]Two Kenyans held in TZ for working without permits[/SIZE]

Two Kenyans were arrested last week in central Morogoro, Tanzania, for allegedly engaging in employment without valid permits.

Morogoro region police commander, Ulrich Matei, said on Thursday that the two, identified as Mr John Kariuki and Ms Beatrice Kanyinge, where apprehended on February 23 in Gairo town following a tip-off from traders.

The police chief said Mr Kariuki introduced himself as an IT technician working with Web Technologies, a firm that is contracted by the Tanzania Revenue Authority to distribute and service electronic fiscal devices (EFDs) for issuance of receipts by retail businesses.

“On that day, he claimed that businessmen in Gairo had called him wanting their devices to be maintained. But, citizens realised he wasn’t working with the said TRA agent after demanding Tsh30,000 ($13) payment for repairing a device,” said Mr Matei.

Ms Kanyinge was arrested for what Mr Matei said was inviting Mr Kariuki into the country and also working at without the necessary documents.

“They were found with expired Web Technologies identity cards, passports, EFDs, blower, screwdriver, three mobile phones and Tsh30,000,” Mr Matei said.

He said investigations so far show that the two no longer work for Web Technologies.

Tanzania charges $500 for work permits for East Africans.

wakikuyu walituharibia jina kitambo TZ vile wali raid ma bank na kuibia wa TZ

Wee wacha ujinga…wakikiyu ndio kumanisha nini!huoni mada ni ya wa kenya!hu upupu wa ukabila mna funzagwa chuo gani hio

This nonesense of breaking laws in foreign land and shedding crocodile tears should be brought to end.

Kenya government should also punish those two for their ignorance.

:smiley: :smiley:

what didn’t they know?

[QUOTE="English, post: 1524188, member:

“They were found with expired Web Technologies identity cards, passports, EFDs, blower, screwdriver, three mobile phones and Tsh30,000,” Mr Matei said.

Looks like the EAC will never come to fruition with TZ in it, si watoke tu completely instead of playing both sides, you cannot employ protectionist measures then expect to enjoy markets elsewhere.

hapa wakenya tuna makosa, I remember back hapo 09 had been sent to tz for some IT work and kama kawaida we used to get into tz as kawaida visitors, work permit was stress, especially for short term assignments.

One day someone snitched, and the labor guys started looking for us, luckily on the day they laid ambush at the office my daily commute from hapo sleepin karioko to mikocheni where the office was based was interrupted, the cab I was using was in a small fender bender accident and since I did not want to use their dala dala, I had to wait for the guy to finish up with the cops, but before he finished word got to me that some guys were waiting for me at the office, and hapo hapo I changed route to julius nyerere airport back home. Luckily I had this habit of clearing with the hotel everyday, I think that is what they demanded.

Hawa wachaga wanauza mitumba city stadium inafaa wachangamukiwe bila kusahau talkers watanzania hapa ktalk.

:smiley: no need for revenge, I think we should actually let them come in without restrictions, they have nice fabrics they sell at times, but I think with time they will realize it does not suit them to be that aggressive

Case of point Uganda. They used to import everything from Kenya and predictably didn’t like it. However M7 didn’t go the protectionist route. He gradually built their industry. He also knew we are bound to suffer from food deficits with seasons. Right now in the last 6 months a lot of cereals, milk and fresh produce has been crossing the border from UG to Kenya mostly heading to Nairobi. M7 is happy to see the trade deficit shrink while trade volumes increase. Lastly M7 has fully embraced the market integration, joint taxation and infrastructure integration. Busia is a joint one stop border crossing. URA staff are based in Mombasa port and Nairobi ICD. Between 2012 and 2016 URA collections in Kenya increased 300%. To M7 that’s a lifeline to his development agenda. URA collects more here in Kenya than UG. Just today all transit goods are now fitted with tracking devices and seals.
[ATTACH=full]160580[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]160581[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]160582[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]160584[/ATTACH]

Kenyans are just agressive in doing business , I remember they shot and killed a business lady from muchatha same years ago kimatharao tu !

Tz past Arusha bila work permit ni muoto,… kuna immigration un uniformed police and officials stationed in major bus stations wanacheki suspicious person,…meffi sana

No way, Afande! Musamaki alisema kila Mwafrika yuko huru kuingia hapa kwetu bila visa, na zaidi ya yote, kila M-eastafrican yuko huru kufanya kazi yoyote hapa kwetu bila work permit!

Makosa si ya wakenya. Tanzania should remove this requirement for a permit. Tanzanians are also aggressive at doing business. A big percentage of these hawkers in the streets of Nairobi are Maguflistanis

Hata saa hii wanauza mahindi choma na wanakata sukuma kwa vibanda.

they sell the best hemp in town

How do you differentiate between a Kenyan and Tanzanian maasai?

Hard to