Talk about taking the pith!

[SIZE=7]Talk about taking the pith! Melania’s safari hat is mercilessly mocked on social media, as users deride her for dressing ‘like a European colonizer’[/SIZE]

By Clemence Michallon For Dailymail.com17:45 05 Oct 2018, updated 21:43 05 Oct 2018

https://i-dailymail-co-uk.cdn.ampproject.org/i/s/i.dailymail.co.uk/1/2018/10/05/20/4805682-0-image-a-149_1538767978905.jpg

[li]The first lady, 48, toured an animal sanctuary in Nairobi, Kenya, on Friday, wearing a safari hat along with a white shirt and khaki riding pants[/li][li]Safari hats emerged in the 19th century and were predominantly worn by armed forces in the colonies; they remain a symbol of colonial rule and oppression [/li][li]Social media users quickly slammed Melania’s choice of accessory, deeming it insensitive and comparing it to a costume[/li][li]‘How “imperialist colonial oppressor” can you get?!’ one person tweeted[/li][li]‘That pith helmet you have carried was used by colonialists during the dark days. Doesn’t sit well with us Africans. Who advised you?’ another Twitter user asked[/li][li]Some compared Melania’s outfit to the one worn by Meryl Streep in the 1985 drama Out of Africa[/li][/ul]
Melania Trump has become a subject of derision on social media after wearing a safari hat during her visit to Nairobi, Kenya.

The first lady, 48, wore the accessory while visiting an animal sanctuary on Friday amid her solo official trip to Africa.

Safari hats, also known as pith helmets, emerged in the 19th century and were predominantly worn by armed forces in British colonies. As such, they remain a symbol of colonial rule and oppression, which is why many social media users blasted Melania’s hat for being tone-deaf.

[ATTACH=full]198819[/ATTACH]

Backlash: Melania Trump has become a subject of derision on social media after wearing a safari hat during her visit to Nairobi, Kenya, on Friday

Some of them took to Twitter to question the first lady’s choice of accessory, at times comparing it to a costume.

Melania paired the white hat with a matching button-down shirt and khaki riding pants that she tucked into a pair of boots.

‘Nice hat! Halloween store?’ one Twitter user quipped after seeing the first lady’s outfit.

Another person thought Melania looked ‘like a European colonizer in her pith hat and riding boots’.

‘How “imperialist colonial oppressor” can you get?!’ someone else wondered.

One Twitter user addressed Melania on the platform, telling her: ‘That pith helmet you have carried was used by colonialists during the dark days. Doesn’t sit well with us Africans. Who advised you?’

Some people are just sad. Now because they don’t like Trump, they will look for anything to get outraged about. Melania is a fine woman and she was dressed appropriately.
Bure kabisa!

What is it with the hat/helmet.Sometimes we read too.much from nothing

Petty, miserable idiot’s are all over the Internet …

Bitch is hot for a 48 year old.

hio miaka yoooooooooote hawajanotice hii hapa? sasa ju muzungu amevaa,inaleta kasheshe? I bet whoever twitted was wearing someone eles’s straight hair…[SIZE=2]if you know what i mean:D:D:D:D[/SIZE]
https://cdn.mpasho.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/Sexy_DO.jpg?x75745
I bet if she wore the green safari hat,there’d still be butt hurt citing around a white hunter. The backwardness of some shithole people…

Probably the tweet originator was dressed in skin

This hatred for Trump hunishangaza sana because I don’t get it. The guy is a little racist but under him the US economy is thriving and even black people who didn’t vote for him are getting jobs.
Compared to Obama, Trump is a much better president.

Ok, you’re stretching it. This has nothing to do with Trump! Other sensitivities - what do you expect? It’s social media for crying out loud! But making it a Trump thing is akin to kissing ass when you don’t need to. Melania can handle herself, thank you very much!

Trump is agood realist. blacks dont need charity and no society needs charity

TBH all Trump haters were dealt a sweep and a mighty one by the K victory. Sitaki mambo so don’t engage me. Trump is PORTUS and there is no point of wasting time posting about him his verbosity and idiocy.
I hate him so bye now lakini my normal life goes on…‘Trumpless’.

The only issue was the traffic jam pale Westland , that hotel should have been located a way from highway !

nipe namba ya ndeewhore

Thread backfired :D:D

huyu anaeza fanya niibe kuku bure na nijipeleke kwa ofisi yake kama nimejifunga kamba kwa mikono

:D:D:D:D:DGrievance Olympics stupidity.
Let her trigger them all!
Social media has made people too sensitive to nonsense and turned them into group think Orwellian snowflakes.