This is a very brief but detailed article on the woes of sugar farmers in Western and Nyanza. Considering this is a stronghold for the CORD party, the important question farmers should ask is what has the devolved system assisted me with. That should be the first point of contact before we go to the central government.
The key thing here is cartel cartel cartel…I don’t know if shiny eyes shine these areas. Sugar farmers are literally screwed by brokers. If you’ve been to those sides with sugar plantations you will see the devil poverty with two eyes. Small scale farmers in an endless cycle of peasantry. Even the article refers to them as peasants.
My point is this, in Kenya it does not matter who is president the leaders are all the same. Monkey trader and his team have had a chance in government and no notable track record to help their people.
Niliona list ya companies and their directors that have licenses to import sugar. Leo and behold I saw the wife of one of the sugar board directors on the list. If the sugar board directors are involved in sugar importation, Raila molasses plant is listed as a having received molasses from Mumias without paying, where is hope for the poor farmers?
The government is aware of Cartels who’re importing illegal sugar in Kenya. Infact Sugarcane cartels are powerful people in government and since western region does not support serikal lazima waangamizwe. These cartels will some how make the country have a shortage of sugar so that they can be allowed to import sugar,
[ATTACH=full]58083[/ATTACH]
Farmers are then left with fresh harvest that end up rotting in the fields…who is to blame?
Devolution cannot stop the rot in the sugarcane industry. Only the govt can. The county govts cannot stop Duale and his cabal of woria businessmen from importing cheap sugar through somali. The county govts cannot stop Kidero and Hussein Machozi plus Obado (govno) from using cartels to benefit from the sugar industry. And you cap it all by including unnecessary politics on the issue. The long and short of it is that only the central govt can help sugarcane farmers by reducing cartel activity like Magufuli tried dealing with the sugar cartels in TZ.
Hii sio maneno ya siasa babaa. How has Uhuru helped coffee farmers in Central besides handing them grants day in day out? Kutoka Tatu and a great deal of Kiambu County, how many farmers have uprooted their crop because of cartel activities?
Boss hapa hakuna siasa. Hapa ni serikali imefail kutoka ya Moi hadi ya Uhuru.
did they cut? i am in the middle of the coffee zone in central and i am still shown coffee trees that paid school fees for the current Nyeri luminaries…let’s separate myth from fact please…
The article is looking at this cane thing from a different angle. It has not talked much about the cartels importing sugar but more on the middlemen who shaft cane farmers at the weigh bridges in the counties.
We are on two different pages here but nyani mnapenda tu kelele.
Cartels sasa wanatafuta za campaign.As of today 1kg sugar is going for ksh 150 up from ksh110.Thats over 35% increase under a week, next week might be even more.Hii sukari kuna watu hutengeneza pesa mzuri sana.
What you want to hear is not the major issue that is ailing the sugar industry. What has been highlighted above by talkers are the key issues whether in the article or not. But it’s unfortunate that is not what you wanted.