Strategy 101

Na sijaweka summary

I have this fascination with Core competency of the firm.
Take brookside for example; their true knowledge and skill exists in processing and packaging of dairy products. Problem is the end product is useless and of no value unless it satisfies demand in the market. So a sales department is set up to market (make known to the market) the existence of say for example Brookside milk. The market responds by saying yes, we want some. But the sales department is not knowledgeable on how to make this product available to the market and end user. Therefore a Supply Chain Department is set up and tasked to make available the product to the market and by extension the end user.
This is where it gets interesting. How does the firm achieve this? How are the competitors achieving this? How does the firm gain competitive advantage?
Porter defines Competitive advantage as the ability of the firm to concentrate on its core competencies to achieve superior products and/or services at a much lower cost than the Industry (competition).
So in reference to that, superior products means 1st class raw dairy products(upstream logistics) cutting edge production processes(production processes) and effective and cost friendly distribution( downstream Logistics).
So how would you help Brookside decide their core competencies and why?

**Asking for a friend: and this is not an actual scenario. Asandeee.

Funny
You want Kenyatalk peasants to teach a billionaire like Uhuru how to make money?
Talk of a fish teaching a bird how to fly.
Or what is the gist of your post?- i have just cursorily gone through it but have seen something about brookside and some competency stuff…
Anyway, if it is about improving brookside market prospects, tell peasants that after eating ‘air nyama’ , they down it with a packet of brookside milk.

Read and understand before commenting, you might come out looking wise…

kuna mtu anataka kufanyiwa assignment…

lol kwani kuna shida? Akina Fmungai helped me ace my Law and Politics units in Klist. so hata kama ni assignment asaidiwe tu.

Sio assignment. So usijali. Just your input.

si kusema asisaidiwe and you know i’d help if i could. my only concern is that someone doesn’t come upfront, a characteristic i find with a lot of kenyans who resort to subterfuge na si eti wangenyimwa kama wangeomba upfront…

Huyu subterfuge ni mnyama gani na anapatikana wapi…:D:D:D

Saidia kijana na marketing assignment jameni.
Double spaced, justified text, font 14 in Times New Roman. At least 2000 words. Deadline: Thursday 6th October

Hehehe ati Marketing assignment…:D:D