I keep hearing a humming noise from the gearbox everytime I drive, took the vehicle for evaluation and the guys could also hear that noise, it’s irritating. Looking from below the car seems to be like it comes from transmission or gearbox, what could that noise be? The car is an automatic, Toyota allion
Which year?
You seem to be sure its the gearbox , why dont you buy the gearbox then ?
chunga sana about those noises.nilichezwa hivyo kumbe shida yangu was the hub bearings. i came to know that later after i had already bought a gearbox. do elimination method. before u replace it. and also find options from different mechanics before u make a decision.
Ukianza shida za gearbox kwanza hizi new models just sell the car if you can not afford showroom/dealer repair. I have 3 friends who have gone through it this year, vw, demio aliweka wrong ATF, fielder, allion. Wote wanacomplain gear are either slipping or takes long to change gear.
Wa allion change 4 gearboxes they fit but gari haichange gear.
Best advice do a Toyota kenya repair. Gari will go back kama zamani
plus guys should know these new cars gearboxes dont fail that often. due to the technology today. most often than not its usually other components around the engine and gearbox that fail.
Refer me to the good mechs
That’s where the sound seems to be coming from,
sawa. i will inbox you
Confirm beyond reasonable doubt that the gearbox is faulty ===> If true, sell when still ahead and wait for a call from a very angry new owner. The model has KNOWN gearbox issues. That is the reason most people are discouraged from buying locally used allions, fielders, premios and axios 2008+. Hata ukiweka gearbox ingine haisaidii. I have seen it first-hand from a friend. He wasted a lot of money and eventually aliiuza when he could no longer afford a new gearbox.
gearbox nowadays ni cvt , if you refill with the wrong fluid you are done.
why don’t you start with a OBD diagnostic report first. peleka iwekwe kwa machine isome all issues before heresay. na upelekee a proper diagnosic centre. ranges around 2000-3500. itakutolea all current faults, errors plus previous ones erased. then u can act from there
Most likely its a Gearbox Mounting Bush. Very notorious. If worn out - gear box nikelele tu.
https://www.saabcentral.com/assets/img/techhelp/9000/bush_location.jpg
Wapi huko
Uliza mtu wa computer 1500 mostly but as you have been told check the gearbox mountain…Does it vibrate ikiwa imesimama.?
@M2Random its better to declare when you are selling that it has GB issues. it will lower the price offcourse but at the same time insulate you from the angry new owner.
Meanwhile @digi I would advise you to change the CVT fluid immediately and make sure you buy this from Toyota Kenya or appointed dealers. At the same time carry out some diagnostics. Some owners of this particular model think that the CVT fluid will last the entire lifetime of the car. This is usually not true. It needs to be changed regularly typically every 40,000 kms.
It is not your duty to declare faults in a vehicle you are selling. Vehicles are sold as is. Meaning that the buyer has done his due diligence and decided to buy it in the present condition. It is his fault if he cannot identify a problem and demand a discount before buying
Can you recommend a good place?
how? are you under the car when its moving? labda ni wheel bearing tu. for 1zz-fe, if it is the grunting(snoring) or drone sound in low gears on hills, its the right engine mount. Its a manufacturing defect but doesnt do any harm to the car. new updated mounting may solve the problem.