Step One to Stopping Being a Financial Idiot

Wsup fam,

Get your hands off your genitals for a minute and let’s talk about something serious: personal finances.

You need not be a personal finance guru to know that part of good personal finance management is knowing exactly where your money goes. If you start making a budget for the sake of it and begin by putting random, arbitrary figures next to items, e.g. transport, airtime, entertainment, etc., you’re wasting time. You’re setting yourself up for failure.

To make a meaningful budget, you need to know what your spending habits are. In short, you need to track your spending.

The easiest way to do it is using an app. Download an expense-tracking app from Google Play Store and track your spending. I use an app called Expense IQ, but there are plenty others. Every time you buy something, record it in the app. Even small things worth 10 bob. The app is designed to make it easy. The beauty of it is that it gives you a report of your expenses whenever you want.

It’s a real eye opener. Shows how much you spend on transport, internet, alcohol, food, betting, etc. Budgeting becomes really easy when your working with real figures on your spending habits, instead of imagined ones.

This financial sermon should be on the Monday morning service, what with people drowning their weekly sorrows in Bombay…

I know the timing ain’t perfect but there’s never really a right time for unsolicited advice anyway, is there?

Check the Reddit sidebars of the following subs

r/financialindependence
r/personalfinance

@Reveille , I’ve heard and accepted your call, kwanza wacha niweke pesa ya bet na bundles, though bet ishachomeka

Wazi. Ntazichungulia.

Inputting expenses isn’t tracking.

Replace the word tracking with monitoring, recording, etc. The gist of it is that after a few weeks you can know what percentage of your money goes where.

:D:D:D…shenzi kabisa

@Reveille i’ll try that app

Got the damn app,so far so good,hope you are not just marketing it

if it’s good, what’s the problem if he markets it?

Like i said so far so good…but am yet to achieve it will achieve my ultimate objective.Otherwise I will use the same forum to trash it

Natumiaga Money Pro (yes, I have been monitoring my finances) but there are still ‘revenue leaks’ coz I can’t account for everything

to be honest these three things dent my finances:

1. Airtime.
  2. Booze
  3. Wife

Haha… Nah man. I’m not an app developer. Wish I was though… One of those that made millions. BTW, huku Kenya kuna ma-coder wameingiza mamita (or at least 6 figures) via apps?

IKR, diligently recording every single expense ain’t easy. Saa zingine you’re just like fuck it hii ni utiaji level-100. And even if you do manage to record them and identify the revenue leaks, plugging them is fucking hard coz sometimes the most wasteful expenses can be the most fun, e.g. [insert your guilty pleasure here].

I dont budget because I usually plan to buy many things but I eventually dont. I buy when absolutely necessary. I am not mean btw.

You only live once. Why care about overspending from time to time.

Tumia pesa zikuzoee…insert Luopean accent.

Good one. One day in 2015 while browsing youtube, I accidentally bumped into a centonomy vid. It impressed me and later downloaded more than 20. I thought I’d been the biggest fool! I’ve never been the same.