Same applies to Statistics too.
Those career paths umetaja hapo they need 100% passion. Unlike other careers, they are not something to be just chosen
Programming needs dedication. If you don’t love it you can’t manage. I am doing Computer Science and some people chose this course bcs they just qualified or they had the story of opportunities and these people have literally given up on it. Luckily there’s an alternative careerpath of Networking they’ve settled in.
Same applies to Statistics. You may have passed Maths in highschool but you really never loved it and yet this is something you’ll be doing as a career
Kama programming unaweza kujifunza tu online and that’s it basi si kila mtu angekuwa anajua kuprogram. These people who have access to a computer and doing jobs like cyber-attendant etc mbona wasijifunze programming and have better jobs.
I understand what university will give you in terms of coding is just a basic introduction to things and simple programs which is just like 1% of what you should know and focus more on the analytical, mathematics & theoretical side and that’s because technology keeps changing very fast.
But university ni muhimu, not just because of the papers
Hizi vitu ni interest. The best coders I’ve worked with are self taught.If you want to learn coding uta learn. @Abba used to write fortran on punch cards in the 70s.
Whoever wants to learn coding resources kibso sana.
Tumia University education kupata elimu ya maana.
afanye comp eng ya jkuat,though kulikua na rumour it is being faced out juu ERB hasnt approved it.It covers software and electronics,when you graduate you can opt for two more semesters at your own time later own,ufanye 12 additional units na upewe hiyo E&E
forget the nonsense by ERB, CUE and the rest.
Electrical eng he won’t go wrong, but that’s the paper side of things
Industrial automation specialization will make him a cut above the rest!!
Thanks I hope I can find somebody who can help me secure that chance. His grades in the relevant subjects were not bad, B+ in Maths, Physics and English.
hio akimbie dekut. Wish him and you all the best
And thats the problem with kenyans,just because a father was a lawyer or mum an engineer or beste makes mullahs in actuarial science…an idiot wants to duplicate. Yes you are right about the market. First world folks take what is called a gap year where one finds themselves,researches the job market,saves cash from odd jobs then after the year they decide weather to augment their studies or work and pay for a different course all together. Kenya is different,highscool unamaliza its pap!! campo there after pap!! tarmaking for what umesomea. My pal studied law coz of his dad’s pestering,aligraduate akapelekea baba yake hio diploma aanike kwa ukuta,he is now managing the engineering sector ya MAERSK kenya…he is still a graduated lawyer but an engineer and very well paid than most lawyers i know.
What im saying ni,yes ni poa kusoma but is it worthwhile kusomea kitu hakupei job for the fact that its market is clogged up and choked? I say ,a little research makes sense. I did basic programming,siku za cobol na c++, waaaaaay back,haikua na market hio time but phone operator [SIZE=1]whatever that is [/SIZE]was marketable
So you guys agree Electrical and Electronics is a good course he should for it.
Also I have never had interested in DeBuT, any info or reviews would be appreciated.
Electrical engineering is a very good course. Mimi personally nilifanyia Electrical Engineering yangu DeKUT. Niliingia 2011, na nikatoka 2016.
As for the cut off points, please confirm with the University. At our time, For regular program students minimum requirement was A- of at least 75 points, na hizo cluster subjects lazima umeperform fiti ndio ufikishe required cluster points. So in our class nearly a quarter were plain A students, and vast majority were A- students. Majamaa wa B+ na B walikuwa under parallel program, I don’t know if things have changed now.
Job market Ni Kama tu hizi courses zingine, iko na struggles zake. But as an Electrical Engineer, be assured huwezi kosa kitu ya kufanya now that nearly everything is electronics and automation
This is the field I actually wish I specialized in
I am a lot of things, one of them a statistician. Bio-statistician. The modern day statistician must also learn a statistical/programming language. I primarily conduct my analysis on R. But at least you should have a good understanding of HTML, CSS and SQL. If you’re into academics then R is a good statistical-programming language. If you’re into business/financial sectors, you should lean towards python.
Today, statisticians are also expected to maintain an online profile and share their projects / blog about situations occurring across the globe. For example, how do “environmental factors affect the spread of COVID-19” or “how the COVID-19 pandemic has influenced nationalistic sentiments across the globe”. At the very least you should maintain a GitHub account for sharing and collaboration.
One key thing you need to know is that to be a statistician you will have to obtain good papers. At the very least a Masters degree to advance your career. Even better a PhD. As for programming, you don’t even have to possess a certificate to get a job.
Lastly, and I think this should be the first point, Statistics and Programming are quickly becoming basic skills. You need to have a unique angle in an industry or sector for your skills to be relevant. Something like a Doctor with programming/statistical skills, or a social worker with programming skills, or an accountant with programming/statistical skills. This will give you leverage and a chance to collaborate worldwide as well as getting top-notch jobs. If you’re a political scientist that possesses strong statistical skills in 2020, you should be targeting Ksh 500K p/m jobs.
Programming/statistics today involves lots of teamwork. If you are the only programmer with insider knowledge, then you’ll always be part of the team.
I did light current/telcoms, but the job market needed different set of skills
Nowadays Siemens automation(S5, simatic s7, TIA V15) puts bread on my table… that’s the only niche that sets you apart
Once got a job to do PLC programming for industrial boilers, finished with something shy of half a mil for a job that took me about 6 weeks. That was one of my first ‘big’ projects ikanifanya niwish ningekua nimefanya automation, mechatronics, electronic engineering, io laini. Watu Kenya sijui kwanini hawafanyi mechatronic engineering, ni closed- mindedness, kusema hakuna kazi because they are focusing on the wrong thing to make a killing of their skillset. Such people are the ones to kickstart our manufaturing industry lakini ni kazi kwa factory ya wenyewe graduates hufikiria tu
Our world today is all about automation
Watu wako na interest lakini gava hukazia. Cluster huwekwa huko juu beyond the reach of ordinary potentials.
My bro did with 83 almost kibahati
@Master JG thanks for this thread, now my mind is made up on the course I will be looking out for.