Standard Media Group, which runs KTN News, KTN Home, Radio Maisha, The Standard newspaper and Berur FM, noted that redundancy will affect employees across all departments.
“This is to notify all staff members of the company’s intention to declare redundancies affecting employees across all departments. The affected employees will be duly informed in writing. The process has been necessitated by the restructuring of the business to adopt a leaner, more efficient structure and shifting trends in media consumption occasioned by the technological changes in the digital environment,” Munene stated.
Na bado by 2027 AI itakuwa ishawamaliza kabisa. Saa hii anyone with 1 Smartphone can be a news reporter.
Ukiwa na laptop, Smartphone, tripod, reliable internet, White Lights na room iko na curtains uko na Studio complete to transmit on Youtube and many other Live platforms. All these for less than 100K Shillings.
Traditional media houses are having it rough. They cannot compete with thousands of youngsters with smart phones roaming the streets with zero expenses to boot.
Standard Media and NMG produces garbage and gossip as news. Most of their international coverage is lifted from AFP and Reuters. Local news is shallow and only a mad person can pay for their paywall. I have subscribed to NYT, WSJ, and WaPo and those magazines give you the whole package, news from 1800, stock news, quality analysis and everything. Otherwise if i had money i could buy them and turn them around