SSD storage

Trying to get ssd storage for my laptop, i am trying to improve it’s performance…
Tried searching jumia and kilimal but the prices are really varying… some too expensive some too cheap.
Advice on which place or model to buy… 500gb or 1tb …

What is your budget, nikuunganishe na mtu wa I?

Tumia sarvo stores you will get crucial mx 500 1tb for about 15k but hapa locally ni older bx500 na ni around 25k. You look for the ssd from amazon then you send them the link.

Don’t buy any ssd, go for crucial or Samsung first through servo stores.

Other brands like adata, sandisk, kingdian are also ok and available on AliExpress at Good price but you look at the ratings and comments of buyers for each store especially those who have given one star if any. If the comments are to do with only delivery and very few on failures it is ok.

Most ssds on jumia except the crucial models are from AliExpress/china and have a higher price than on AliExpress however right now it takes up to three months for delivery.

Google for a shop called DNS solution limited they sell them though sijui bei yao here’s the link Redirecting...

In the same boat. I am going for Western Digital 1TB 2.5"

$110

I recommend you import it. Covid-19 has increased the cost of electronic stuff globally, but importing an SSD (through services like Kentex) is significantly cheaper than buying locally. Wanasemaga support local businesses, but kwa SSDs ni kama ku support wizi.

However, kama laptop yako ni mzee, make sure unajua if it needs a AHCI (SATA)-based ssd au NVMe. M.2 sata ssd has different slot compare to the now more common NVMe ssd.

Unfortunately I can’t advice you on where to buy, but I can suggest what to get. Samsung makes some of the best SSDs. IMO, 250GB should be sufficient for a laptop, then get an external 500GB or 1TB (external drives are normally cheaper). You don’t want to save all your important stuff in a laptop then you loose it!

True local shops are very expensive often double what it will cost you to import from say amazon or aliexpress.
They also stock older versions/models in many cases or brands that should be very affordable like adata, kingston, sandisk, transcend, kingdian… But bei iko juu.

[MEDIA=amazon]B0786QNS9B[/MEDIA]

Settled for this…
Amazon Link
For $114.99 Amazon
[ATTACH=full]305699[/ATTACH]

Apo BIHI towers kuna wasee wanauza SSD’s expensive its better you import…that upgrade is worth it

For SSDs, go for Western Digital, Corsair, Seagate and Samsung or Sabrent for the High end. Preorder from https://bigwigpc.com/ Got my Sabrent Rocket Gen 4 NVMe [5000 MB/s read and 4000 MB/s write] from them last month.

Samsung EVO 860 - 500GB
www.ebay.com

The upgrade is worth it and yes…vile umesema, kuimport is a viable option. Samsung EVO 860 ama EVO 850 ziko sawa.