Spot The Difference

Leopard vs Jaguar Major Differences

The jaguar is stockier and more muscular than the leopard, with a compact body, a broader head and powerful jaws. The jaguar’s tail is also generally shorter than the leopard’s tail.
Though jaguars and leopards both have coats that feature rosette patterns, a jaguar’s rosettes have spots inside them. Both jaguars and leopards can have either golden colored fur or appear black, which is called melanistic.
The leopard is considered the smallest of the four “big cats.” The other three are the tiger, lion, and jaguar.
Jaguars and leopards can both swim very well. Though jaguars love to spend time in the water, leopards will avoid it.

Jaguars are braver than leopards when it comes to facing off with another species that’s bigger. Leopards tend to shy away at the sight of a bigger animal like a lion or hyena while jaguars will boldly stand their ground or even attack anaconda or large caimans in their native habitats.
In the wild, jaguars and leopards inhabit totally different continents.

The jaguar once roamed from Argentina in South America all the way up to the Grand Canyon in Arizona. Today, jaguars have been almost completely eliminated from the US and are endangered throughout their range, stretching down to Patagonia in South America.

On the other hand, leopards are found throughout most of Africa and Asia, from the Middle East to the Soviet Union, Korea, China, India, and Malaysia.

https://www.sciencenews.org/sites/default/files/2016/07/main/blogposts/wt_Standing_jaguar_free.jpg

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/7d/Persian_Leopard_sitting.jpg

I didn’t know I needed this until I read it. And for that, I thank you.

Are you suggesting we should change AFC leopards to AFC Jaguar. @uwesmake,@Mundu Mulosi @123tokambio. Hii chui yenu izeeka ipelekeni ikawekwe dentures.:p:D

Buuuda! Team iko top 4 na unasema itafutiwe dentures? Past two seasons ndio ilikuwa down, not this season…Tuko sawa even though the gap na gor is mayienga mayienga ping, ginni wasekao :D:D

I know another team that is always fighting for top four.

How comes Gor biro climb every time at their will.

Iko nini tena muthee…
https://kenyatalk.s3.amazonaws.com/2017/11/204143_6b3aed77749958f97b941f544a5ced35.jpg

They are good, why lie. Management ya team iko tops in comparison to the rest…

They need to manage their goons too!

Pound for pound, the leopard is the strongest of them all.

i’d vote for the jaguar

Thread derailed here

Just for clarity, the first (picture )one is a jaguar or a leopard?

Atee?? :confused::confused:

there are some quite big hyenas

Hyenas are, in my opinion, the kings of the jungle. Hata simba hazinanga say hyenas zikiwa karibu.

Pound for pound. An average sized jaguar would kick an average sized leopard’s ass, though.

Yenye iko juu (niko kwa phone) ni Jaguar, I think.

I’m actually finding this out today. Always thought hyenas are relatively smaller compared to the cat family

we knocked one in wajir with a land cruiser we felt like we had hit a zebra…