South sudan @okiya & @grace msalame kujeni hapa...

I remember when south sudan was declared an independent state many kenyans wished them well as the africas youngest country and kenyans being the entrepreneurial type saw many opportunities in the young nation. With south sudan taking 70% of the oil resources of the great sudan many saw a nation rising from the ashes like a Phoenix and taking the african continent by storm. But less than five years down the line the picture is not that rosy many kenyans have lost their lives in Ss. Constant fighting between riek machar and salva kiir. I am fortunate to have interacted with kenyan soldiers who have served in south sudan and the picture they paint is not that promising. First of all (i must insist here that its their claim) that dinkas who form a majority of the population have vowed that a nuer will never lead that country including riek who is a nuer. Second they claim that of the two tribes the nuers are a little bit learned hence are qualified to lead most government positions as opposed to the dinkas. Third is that sudan was not pleased with the south breaking away hence will support any faction that will destabilize the south. Forth is that museveni is responsible for the death of de mabior hence his supporters support joseph kony in return. Fifth is that kenya has provided a safe heaven for families of leaders and warlords of SS hence they cause chaos knowing that their families are safe. Hebu lets discuss the issue of Ss once and for all and put it to rest… The million dollar question is SS a lost cause or a diamond in the rough?

This is a nice article but please use paragraphs so that reading is a bit easy on the eye.

Blame hii
[ATTACH=full]53305[/ATTACH]

Nimeenda huko mara kidogo kusaidia employees wao kwa Ministries to learn the best practices and I noticed shida yao kubwa ni mbili. Tribalism and corruption. Dinka’s hate Nuers and vice versa. Pia hapa Kenya those two tribes hawaskizani. Ukiingia Facebook accounts za their leaders e.g. James Gatdet Dak, the hate speech in the comments between Dinka’s and Nuers huwa unimaginable. Most of the guys propagating hate speech huwa USA, Canada na Australia.

On corruption, they had a US dollar fixed rate exchange system. The who-is-who then proceeded to open banks (btw S.Sudan has more banks than Kenya) which were just avenues to milk the country proper. S.Sudan only exports oil. With drop in production due to the war and the falling of global crude oil prices, the country’s dollar reserves started to dwindle. The little that was left was eaten mpaka ikaisha. The government because it became broke, “ate” money belonging to Kenyan commercial banks. Watch Jeff Koinange interview the president and you will note a part where he tells him that Kenyan banks are complaining that they can’t access their money.

Because of all these factors, the economy has crushed. Not many foreigners go there like before unless they work for NGOs and World Bank. Inflation has sky rocketed. I think its 600% while Kenya’s its 6%. Soldiers and civil servants haven’t been paid for almost 3months.

Back here in Kenya, you must have noticed that the number of South Sudanese who look rich has reduced. Kitambo ungewapata kwa Western Unions ama kwa ile mall iko opposite Kenya Science. Sahii wamesota mbaya. Wengine walikuwa wanaishi kileleshwa or Lavington have been forced to go to Githurai. Personally I had a friend who was a dollar millionaire. Kazi ilikuwa kuenda Dubai or Mombasa every two weeks with some Kenyan ladies kuponda raha. Sahii amesota mbaya.

As for whether there is hope, if they stop the war now, maybe they’ll recover after 30 years.

Good analysis Okiya. I can already see a fall (or correction) in Kenyan property prices as a consequence. And by the way I have noticed an influx of South Sudanese in areas such as Roysambu and Mirema. Uchumi mbaya

Lost cause they no nothing but war…wanahitaji kuwa colonised tena

Just like many wars, corruption and tribalism appear to be the causes of the unrest in SS. I think the bigger worry is the existence of a hidden hand, possibly belonging to various African and European nations, not to forget China. Russia, Uganda, Sudan and some other countries are known to have interests in SS. Tribalism is just used as a tool to create disharmony so that war can flourish. War is good business for Russia, China, Uganda and Sudan.

[SIZE=7]“no” [/SIZE][SIZE=4] your osungu.dll is wanting :D[/SIZE]

Ni kufiam!

Just another failed state like Somalia.

30yrs:eek::eek:Some of us will be dead

Wacha wasote ile madharau walinionyesha nikiwa hio bar and restaurant iko on the left of thika road just past homeland i think inaitwa blue springs back in 2007 nikiwa hustler na mwoman wacha tu

turudishie north sudan nchi yake adeal na hizi nyangau na wakileta madharau kenya vile wamezoea hapa Nyayo wapelekwe refugee camp wa learn lessons ama wacheze the Rwanda way waheshimiane .

Ango uko nyayo si ukuje crow daddys na momo wawili in tow?

& btw, 4,000 South Sudan destined 20ft containers used to pass through the port of Mombasa on a monthly basis. In July, only 400 containers passed through there and the information I have is that pia August sio mingi zimepita. That shows you how things are there economically.

In your opinion who between riek and salva is the lesser evil

Mimi najua mwingine. the police used to love him. Alikuwa anaita OCS na personal number akiwa na shida. Siku hizi Police wanamtafuta na haezi walipa

Tis time for gava to buy ilemi for nothing

Hehe sawa

leta hekaya