Sony Wega & Panasonic Top Dome Tv

These are relics of a bygone era. In the 90s and early 2000s these were the coolest tvs.[ATTACH=full]354664[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]354665[/ATTACH]

But these companies still build the best TVs known to man. Panasonics are arguably the best TVs in the world right now. Followed by LG and then Sony.

For example, the Panasonic GZ2000 was the best OLED TV in 2019/2020 and was the most colour accurate. But unfortunately, it was too pricey about Ksh 400,000 for 55" model and was mostly bought by content creation studios. It’s availability was also limited - and was not available in Africa or even US. It was way better than LG and Sony TVs.

So these TV brands are still the best in the world.

They didn’t fade away.

My prefered maker of displays is NEC

Interchange hizi terms :D:D. LG is just good in “specing” OLED TVs (eg the only company that has been providing 4 functional HDMI 2.1 plus ability to easily calibrate). But out of the box, LG OLED is not good head to head with Sony (ata kama zote ni za LG Display). Otherwise LG haijui kuunda LCD TVs relative to competition (very poor FALD algorithm compared to kina Samsungs etc).

I’m curious, why?

I would have killed for a Sony Wega.That TV was dope.

MicroLED is here and you will find them on Samsungs and TCL

They were actually hot, not cool

Birrionaires wa hizo siku walikua wanatumia Grundig kutoka Germany

was that Panasonic TV model phased out?

LG ni garbage ata afadhali JVC, sony though expensive ni mambo yote

We saw a Sony wega billboard as kids and we nagged dad till he bought one. Those were good times. That tv was the standard.

How old are you na umelelewa wapi? As elders we don’t call our fathers dad, we say mzee. You are also not supposed to see billboards until after form 4. But kama umezaliwa past 1992 ni sawa

I’m not an expert in this, but two years ago, LG made all OLED panels for other brands, while Samsung made all QLED panels.

LG makes all the OLED panels but QLED is
not a Samsung product

QLED and other quantum dot TVs use Nanosys’ Quantum Dot Enhancement Film (QDEF) on top of conventional LED-LCDs. The added layer increases brightness and has better colour performance. I think it’s also more energy efficient

At the Consumer Electronics Show 2015 it became known that Nanosys has licensed Samsung Electronics as well as 3M to manufacture QDEF products. QDEFs from 3M are used by top US TV brand Vizio (M-Series Quantum, P-Series Quantum & P-Series Quantum X) as well as TV manufacturers Hisense (ULED TV) and TCL (QLED TV) TV sets.

Nanosys had a competitor called QD Vision which is the supplier of quantum dot filters to Sony. They were bought by Samsung some years back

Sony Wega had great aesthetics as well as picture quality.

You got jokes. QLED was innovated by Samsung in 2017/18

Hahah wewe ndio una jokes. QLED is somehow a brand name. The real technology as stated by @Dennis212 is Quantum Dots. It might seem like Samsung’s innovation because the company was among the first to jump on the tech to compete with LG’s OLED. Confusing people with “QLED,” which sounds like OLED might have been the intention.

Samsung and TCL implementation brand name is “QLED,” LG uses “Nanocell,” while Sony calls it “Triluminous Display.” All these terms refer to the same thing; LCD panels that use quantum dots :D.

I’m 100 percent confident that I know what I’m talking about, but won’t argue. In the past 2 years, [SIZE=2]I replaced at least 5 units in my house, and[/SIZE] I did quite an extensive research regarding the technologies.