Sonko

MMNN:
NAIROBI Governor-elect Mike Sonko declines Sh25 million for inauguration ceremony, directs the cash be used to pay… https://t.co/nogeV39uZ9@Meria Mata roger that. Am hopeful Mbuvi will try to do something about our city especially cleanness.Kidero failed big time

Kidero cemented his name in infamy.
He will always be remembered as the cholera governor.
The governor who brought cholera to the city after many decades.

13 Likes

Ako na ubongo

Inakaa atajaribu kuutumia

There is a reason the leaders at the Presidency picked Igathe as deputy governor to help Governor elect Sonko in running the city. Sonko will supervise and handle policy as written in the manifesto. Igathe and the chief of staff picked will handle the details. All in all I’m equally excited by Sonko and Igathe team in restoring Nairobi.

I was sceptical about this Sonko - Igathe thing but it might actually work. Sonko asaidie wasee wa mta while Polycarp runs the backend office work.

Sawa, let them fast track an effective and efficient public transport system for the city and we will give them a second term very fast.

That solution for an modern urban mass transport system is too big and costly for Nairobi County. This is why President Uhuru formed Namata by executive order. It will be fully constituted this year. They are to take all ideas, proposals and plans of an urban transport at ministry of transport and decide the way forward. They will also oversee the matatu industry reforms. What’s more important is the type of modern light train service that will suit Nairobi needs, its financing, build, operate and fares.

Sonko has been tested and proven. He is the Nairobi’s Robin Hood but I hope he won’t divert all the county funds to uplift Kenyans in the slums and forget the city

I’m still not very convinced by Sonko-Igathe. I will give them 3 years before I judge them.

Hope he keeps this attitude up…

btw kuna train station mpya inaundwa hapo dandora has been ongoing since early last year

Their first priority is fixing sanitation. Garbage, bust sewerage, dirty streets and estates. Rehabilitation of dandora dampsite must be top priority. Social services like schools, hospitals, playgrounds, parks, halls and stadiums. Rehabilitation of slums to modern flats is also a huge project. Its a multi sectoral effort between Gov, UN, donors and community. The local politics stalled it but I hope it can take off again. Let’s be clear you cannot move Nairobi to greater height if the poor aren’t provided a chance to breakthrough the social economic barrier. Lastly reforms at county hall systems through prudent corporate governance is key to all these plans. No more replacing one cartel with another.

Its the same project under the old KR one meter line funded by world bank such as the soykimau train station. Unfortunately that projects fails to capture the scope, needs and ambition of a modern city like Nairobi.

Kidero was in accommodative to projects it seems. We could be miles away

The Robin Hood Syndrome kicks in even before inauguration… Kama hauishi kwa slum ole wako…