For the past one month, the first few pages of daily nation cannot miss something negative about the governor. Mwiki Road was repaired. But that will be reported near obituaries. These guys have an agenda. I haven’t seen today’s newspaper but I bet before you reach page 6, there will be a negative story about sonko.
Wacha sonko afanye kazi. Well judge him in 2021
It’s embarrassing to read these. Freezing in Nairobi ? Does sonko know what it takes to freeze the ground ?
Sonko awache ufala, lif that was the case, all roads in .ke will be facing the same dilemma .
Sonko need to start taking responsibilities.
I am embarrassed to read this from you. freezing does not necessarily mean water turning to ice but the water temperature dropping and rising as it happens during day and night. don’t lose the concept as you look for nits to pick. i am happy sonko has sought the right advice and it has been explained to him like technology should be explained to wanjiku…
His argument can stand in the northern and southern Hemispheres, not in the tropics. Even in those places the road don’t dilapidate after every winter.
I am super embarrassed to read this from you. Sonko is claiming that the wster that froze was underneath a layer of tarmac right. Well, for water that is in the ground to freeze, you have to experience freezing temperatures for an elongated time.
The engineers tasked with the job weren’t up to task.
It’s like comparing two varieties of poison. They’ll all kill damnit. When a good road is constructed, it serves for 25-40 years before it needs to be overhauled due to wear and tear. We’re at year 1 with Sonko and he’s complaining of thawing and freezing? Shit!
There are quick wins Sonko should have started with from day one.
Sort out traffic lights and remove the human element. Have the city traffic marshals & police enforce obedience to traffic lights.
Repair CBD roads to include walkways, traffic lights, street lights etc. with no pr shit
Build more bus stations with markets adjacent to the stations and remove matatus, tuktuks motorbikes & hawkers from CBD
Enforce city bylaws to the letter.
Remove street families and beggers
If Sonko has done none of those things, no one can say he’s better than kidero. He’s a foolish insecure figurehead at city hall, only good at dishing handouts and blaming kidero for the ills affecting Nairobi.
the concept works everywhere. the difference is in how well the road’s sub-base and base were compacted and how well the final sealant surface was applied. if the road is not well drained any waterlogging gives the water time to percolate/seep into the base where the forces of expansion and contraction go to work to undermine the road as explained. kuja elezea hawa watu Engineer @shocks …
oh, and by the way, everywhere, including the tropics, is either in the north or south hemisphere. nairobi temperatures range from 24 (day) to 13 (night). it is these differences that are responsible for the expansion and contraction that damages roads.
That stands, and it narrows down to poor workmanship, lakini hii ya water freezing, iko nje. Simple experiment, get two bottles of water, bury one and leave the other on in the open.
After 24 hrs take the temperatures of the two bottle. Do this on a cold day.
Upuzi tupu, nilitembea nje ya hapa na sikuwahi ona pothole kwa hiyo nchi. And guess what, temperature of that place used to be -10°c… and 8°c when in spring.watu waache kuona watu ni mafala. I rest my case
If his argument is right, how come there are very few potholes in highways in London,UK where there is constant freezing to below zero Celsius and warming.
Hahaha and @gashwin is actually defending him. Sonko has finally realised his quick fixes which always won him admiration from nairobians aren’t going to work anymore. He will have to adopt longterm solutions to almost all city problems including traffic,water and roads. It wont win him votes but the projects will last…like we have always said here he should stop shoddy road repairs and instead hire competent people to do it according to international standards. Am even embarrassed to respond to this kind of stupidity…when will he finally take responsibility for once…always blaming someone/something