Someone explain to me

I saw somewhere itumbi saying that the lifting of fuel subsidy will agonize us hustlers for a short while but eventually the fuel price will drop.

My question is how short is short? What’s the time frame that we are talking about here? And by lifting the subsidy how will the price then later fall? Nielezeni elders kabla nitoke lunch.

Uliza Itumbi.

Vile mbomb amesema

So you expect the fule to drop after being given promises?

Basically, lifting the subsidy will increase prices in the short-term and reflect the actual price of the commodity. A subsidy is not sustainable, think of it as a piecemeal solution that sort of “manages symptoms but does not treat the cause of symptoms.” The realistic approach would be reconsidering the taxes and levies imposed on fuel to make it cheaper and this is what JSKS’s government is undertaking.

They probably plan to use national assembly to remove some of the levies on fuel. KRA collects Kshs 62 on every litre of petrol ( Excise duty, road maintenance levy, petroleum development levy, petroleum regulatory levy, railway development levy, anti-adulteration levy, Merchant shipping levy, Import declaration fees, VAT)…but then watatoa wapi pesa wakianza ku scrap taxes?

Tulia tutengeneze mambo pole pole

I’m really not sure where JSKS plans to get revenue if he removes taxes and levies on fuel.
He should remove the subsidy though.

Fuel prices are determined by the global economy. Chief on that is the force of demand and supply.
At the moment, the global prices have fallen.
However, you should understand that Europe is facing an energy crisis and some have taken steps to revert to oil where gas was being used. Another player is OPEC+.
Long story short, we are in a “let’s wait and see” situation.
That is unless JSKS plan to purchase Russian oil.

Wacha nifuel saa hii ya next two weeks coz the shafting is inevitable!

We should buy oil from Russia

I doubt WSR will be willing to drop most fuel taxes to reduce prices below the current subsidized rate
obviously kenyans will suffer and inflation will be worse until they figure out appropriate legislation that lowers the cost

As an Azimio voter, I will be very happy car owners (especially the UDA battalion) wakifinya makei na WSR

As from yesterday Itumbi is officially the Joseph Goebbels of kenya, think about that

Not possible since those taxes were imposed by loans we took

The only solution I see here is for the WSR government to show the west the middle finger and but fuel from Russia

Remember most loans and grants are from the west

I know but that’s the only solution that will not hurt us. The IMF wants to government to stop fuel subsidy which means the fuel prices will increase. Or maybe if the government can renegotiate the terms of the loan like paying using our own currency instead of theirs, then it can help. Because almost daily the Kenyan shilling keeps on lossing its value against the dollar which means at the end, the government will end up paying more that what they negotiated for