Some Jubilee coalition MPs are pushing for counties to be reduced from 47 to 10 to manage the country’s wage bill. A draft bill under the Boresha Katiba initiative suggests the country be divided into fewer regions to replace the current devolved units under the 2010 Constitution. The suggested counties are Coast, Upper Eastern, Lower Eastern, Central, Nairobi, North Rift Valley, South Rift Valley, Nyanza, Western and North Eastern.
Its all about the shoe being on the other foot blah blah blah,
Will comment when there is a proposal to reduce the number of constituencies by the same MPS
I remember almost getting into a bar brawl after telling some friends that the proposed constitution though “progressive” was not manageable/sustainable because it was creating over representation that would translate to a huge wage bill but ile matusi nilipata you would have thought am the anti Christ. the guys started telling me bull crap about how states were working so well in US but they forgot that states in US have a bigger budget than KEs full budget and all of them are self sustaining.
sometimes politics trumps logical reasoning
8 Provinces - 47 Counties - 10 Counties. This is just a back & forth. It’ll require a referendum and taxpayers funding. I’ll support it too if constituencies are reduced.
Let’s get rid of the woman representatives
and senators
These are just busy bodies,they are trying to remain relevant,if they are serious why dont they just merge with punguza mzigo ya moses kuria?they are trying to get a voice for re-election
It won’t happen in your lifetime. Too many vested interests and too many unelected politicians itching to have their snouts in the feeding trough.
how can kenya be revolutionised?
hakuna kitu useless kama mca…wait iko… nominated mca…
Ile vita hii proposal itapigwa haijuani, ati merge all Nyanza counties into one, my Kisii brothers will be outnumbered by the Luos, Merus will lord over upper eastern, Kales will lord over Turkana, Samburus and the kikuyus in Laikipia. Hakuna mahali hii inaenda. What we can only do is hope our economy continues to grow so that in the mid 20s we will be able to comfortably carry these busy bodies
One thing i know is that we were not ready as a country to have devolution. It is also a bitter truth that we need to be colonized as we were not ready to be independent. All those counties are there but the money lost is more than what is used in development.
Ama tu provinces ziitwe counties without necessarily undermining provincial commissioners
Acheni kuwa na so much pessimism, we have to start from somewhere, hizi ni baby steps. If 20yrs from now bado tutakuwa na mashida za ujinga kama MCAs kuenda roundi mwenda all over the world, then we should reconsider
I might try to be optimistic but the kind of politicians and leaders we have are there for personal gains… Devolution was very important but it needed much more time to put in place good strategies to fight corruption first.
during the constitution making process,Politicians,delegates,committee of experts,etc could not agree on how many counties and their boundaries we should have.every tribe, clan wanted their own.they only settled for the 47 post independence districts as counties ki shingo upande.too many vested interests.
Wewe kuwa colonized pekee yako.
I just wanted to pass a point that during colonial times things were being done better than now apart from few issues concerning human rights.
Things were not necessarily better IMO.