Have been sitting CATs today (kusoma uzeeni). So in between the papers, I’d go back to the car to unwind kiasi, catch a nap hivi hivi, and by 4 pm, I was done. So I went back to my car to leave for home and damn, car couldn’t start! The issue I aired in a reply here http://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/pre-travel-inspection.19155/ had come to haunt me, a parasitic battery drain. I’d forgotten my switch!!
So I get out, scan around for someone to help me, and I spot some Taxi drivers, packed adjacent to me. So I smile and approach them for help, but alas, they refuse! Mark you nimepark kando yao!! So one guy speaks of somebody with a jumper cable who charges 1000, but I tell him that haina haja ya kutafuta cos I have my cables and will pay him 400 if he just turns his car and helps me to JumpStart mine. Cos the drain is not extensive…I can wind down the windows, honk…yaani, ni ile yenye dry cell inaweza amsha!!
To my surprise, the guy refused! ‘Kama nitaleta cable ni sawa!’ So I go back to where we were sitting the exams and before I can get back in, I spot a guy I’d seen in the exam hall, in a car! I speak to him and he promptly offers to help.
He drives over to where I am parked, and in less than 3 minutes, vroom, my car is on! He does not charge me anything!!! I looked at the Taxi drivers sitting on the kerb, and cleared my throat, then retorted in a Moi accent, ‘Mubaki hivyo hivyo!’
Similar thing happened to me near a petrol station upande za Ongwaro. The taxi guys wanted me to pay 500. Bahati mzuri some waria came to fuel and when I went to talk he came and helped jumpstart without charge
Same thing happened to me on Wednesday nimeenda kuwasha gari ikakataa kuwaka. Kuenda petrol station watu wa taxi wananiambia nitoe mia nne Mimi namshow niko na mia moja since gari haiko mbali wakaruka wote na hao ndio hunibebea nyoka ikikuja na sitaki kuonekana . Nikawaambia wajitombe nikarudi kwa gari bahati nzuri nikaangukia boy wangu alikuwa na jumpers akashtua hio nyoka yangu.
Boss, I’d bet ten thousand bob that majority of us in this village are under age 40. Nd’o tunapanga Maisha. Wewe na Range rover yako tafuta size yako huko…>>>