Somalis do not have the intellectual prowess to take over nairobi

That is the problem with somalis. Kenyans in the diaspora invest in kenya but somalis from somalia in the diaspora cant invest in somalia due to insecurity and therefore use their kin to invest in nairobi.

Hapana. Kilimani

I’m curious why would they move from Minnesota to Nairobi

People overhype Somalis and yet even those investments they have now are short-term.
They dont invest in Shares(mostly, not because shares are haram, but because some of the company shares on stock exchanges belong to companies that do haram activities)
They don’t invest in bonds(never.Riba)
They do not do saccos(Riba)
They do not do money markets, derivatives, and the likes(also Riba)
They do not do insurance unless forced(Riba)
They do not basically do anything to do with Riba and they are very strict about that unlike the Muslim Indians(who do not give a f*ck. Isn’t Jubilee Insurance owned by Ismailis?) or even the Coastal Arabs. In short, their wealth is for one generation and it will go kaput. They cannot survive in a Western style economy like Kenya is unless they embrace interest but they ,unlike the smaller but more liberal Muslim communities in Kenya, will never do that. So they will never actually build true wealth. Real estate is not sustainable in the long term.
The only other way is for them to hijack the system and live off the proceeds of corruption and government jobs the way the Rift community does and I do not see that ever happening in Kenya. They can go hijack the government in Somalia though!!

But overall, the reason why even Kikuyus are struggling is the obsession with land and real estate instead of actual production. Non-Muslim Kenyans really need to embrace STEM and manufacturing as well as constantly adapting to new services and tech the way East Asians have. Some Kikuyus have learnt this (Kudos to the multi-decade Kikuyu-Indian Alliance of families that own Sarova Hotels that has outlasted the tribal Kikuyu business dynasties) but most have not.

What unity???
Lool!! Dividing and ruling Somalis is one of the easiest things we can do the rest of the 94% of us who are not Somali in Kenya. Ethiopia does it pretty well .Mind you Ethiopia has a much larger Somali population than we do.

Those guys are based on clans and sub-clans. The current Ruto Government btw aside from Duale’s clan, has basically abandoned Kenyan Somalis and thrown them to the dogs .I am talking clans that are only found in Kenya and Kenya alone and are disconnected from even Somali politics.
The next government’s agenda should be to simply expel non Kenyan Somali clans to Somalia and Ethiopia .All of them. Including the cross-border ones, we remain with our core 4 clans.
Funny enough, one of those clans has long advocated for this since like the Kibaki era(though their agenda is to basically seize a whole county for themselves) but right now the current government is made up of incompetent fools who have no idea about Somali clan dynamics.

The biggest advantage Somalia has is the numbers. Hawaogopi kuzaana kama panya. Na wote waujituma adi kale kadogo

Niaje mkuu. Niko Calgary sasa. Ukijipata izi pande nivutie nishike bia mbili

Erosion of morality in the US. Personally 10 years ago I gave up on a chance to relocate to the states becaise I feared for the future of my kids, generally speaking life is better for a muslim in Africa.

Nice. Kweli inakaa you have a long term plan. Nitakushtua for sure. Enjoy the mountains.

1. Somalis appear to have a lot of money because they have a large diaspora community. That community chooses to send dollars to Kenya instead of Somalia. Eastleigh is being developed using dollars that would have been invested in Mogadishu. They do not trust their own nation.
  2. 100% of Somali government officials and elite invest heavily in Kenya. Warlords, pirates, and politicians loot their country and invest their proceeds here. The same case can be said about South Sudanese. Generals, warlords, politicians, bureaucrats, etc all invest in Kenya instead of their volatile nations.
  3. Somalis are overrated. You guys only see their elite making big investments. They are easy to notice because of their different looks. For one rich Somali there are 100 starving peasant Somalis living in squeezed apartments all over. There are also very many Somalis in the slums. They ain’t shit.

I would argue that Indians in Kenya are the real outliers and they are genuinely loaded. The average Kenyan Somali is just as broke as the average Kenyan but the same cannot be said about the average Kenyan Indian.

You give those muslim chieth too much credit. Money from diaspora? Which diaspora? Which one? Point it to us na kidole. Once again, which diaspora???

Somalis in Canada, America and Europe are mostly Uber drivers, gas station workers, DoorDash drivers and other menial jobs that pay $15 an hour. At best, you’ll find one or two that own restaurants (and hire other Somalis to clean dishes, wait tables etc) and the odd one out that owns a convenience store that sells East African products (NOT Somali products but unga ya ugali, chapati etc etc). They’re not educated (only a tiny tiny percentage of them even go to college to study anything useful). I’ll ask you again, WHICH FUCKING SOMALIS FROM DIASPORA ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??? Louder?? Which diaspora??

Now let’s talk about the Kenyans in diaspora. These guys are mostly extremely well educated (they got scholarships at American and Canadian colleges) and work on wall street, tech, healthcare etc etc. The ones with little to no education start with these nursing care jobs until they work their way up to actually owning these nursing homes. Kenyans really do the most out here. It’s understandable why diaspora remittances have overtaken tourism as the single biggest foreign exchange earner for Kenya and why Ruto is busy telling Kenyans to go abroad. Kenyans abroad are serious serious money printing machines (na msiniletee anecdotes za Lynn Ngugi apa about how wanateseka majuu).

Somalis don’t have money to send to Kenya (a few do but 95% of them are on welfare and other social service schemes). You’re delusional if you think the Somali diaspora have any capacity to build Kenya. The question now becomes, which Somalis are putting up those concrete structures all over the country? MONEY FROM NFD COUNTY GOV’T and investments from SOMALI GOV’T OFFICIALS all the way from Mogadishu. Those people can be traced and are only a handful. You think Abdi from your estate is loaded? Tumieni akili you stupid negroes.

Nairobi is Nairobi because Kenyans govern better than most other Africans. Kenyans are able to maintain a semblance of order and so every baron from Cental Africa, Somalia, Sudan, and West Africa parks money in that godforsaken city. Don’t for a second think that Somalis are taking over anything when they’ve failed to run Somalia.

All it takes is for one sane Kenyan leader to do the following:

• Ban foreign ownership of real estate
  • Take immigration seriously and ban people from warring countries like Somalia and even deport some
  • Crack down on illegally obtained citizenship like we did with the shifta wars of North Eastern
  • Heavily tax non-Kenyans

Kenyans have everything to gain from all the illicit money flowing in Nairobi. One executive order and we can literally take it all for ourselves. If I were a Somali, I’d be very fearful.

They can’t answer this question.

Many countries ban foreigners from owning land. Kenya should do the same.

Zoomalis use proxies of their kenyan somalis to invest most of the time

Kujituma wanajituma kweli, I have seen even school boys getting busy in the family shops huko mtaani

Shida ni disorganisation na petty clan squabbles zao. Mzungu aliingia Somalia before coming to Kenya and even before that they had trade links with Arabs for millennia. Kama hiyo exposure yote haingefanya watake over East Africa, what makes you think they can today… Mzungu aliona heri he works with the more agile Kikuyus than the rigid pseudo Arabs from up north

Somalia should be like singapore because it sits on the world’s largest shipping route, from europe to asia.

It also has an insanely massive coastline. They could leverage that advantage for tourism, fishing and trade

But good Harbours or significant hinterlands to serve

The whole somali coast should be lined with beach hotels like the kenyan coast. FYI kenya’s coastline is only about 400km while the somali coast about 3,000 km.