Social service rewards

One Wednesday evening many many years ago, around six in the evening, i sat with friends in my office at Stimvak Arcade in Rongai, just making small talk. Presently, my phone rang, indicating that my son’s mum was calling. It was very unlike her to call at that hour, but since my gals were vissiting their baby brother, i sensed that they were just out to disturb my peace. I ignored it.
Hardly a second later, the phone rang once more. I picked it with one thing in mind. To blast them for persistent calling since i had talked to them at five oclock same evening. ‘Hello’ , i growled, but, lord almighty, i was answered back by hysterical screams from both my gals “Dadii, dadii si ukuje, uuuui, uuuui, dadiii si ukam”
Without further ado, i went into panic mode red flag. The gals were hardly coherent, no matter how hard i tried to calm them down long enough for a hint. By now i was outside headed to my car with all the three friends in tow. Out of the gibberish, i gathered that Gem, my son was real sick. It took me less than two minutes to drive from my office to church road, where upon doing the final bend, i met my baby momma, eight months pregnant, speeding up the slope, my four year old in her arms, my gals screaming at her sides and an entire neighbourhood behind them. My two friends who were driving were in tow too. Friends, i am good in driving, i was better driver when younger, but even by these standards, the 360° turn i deed, on a dirt road, unplanned, is by far the best stunt on wheels in any book i know.
The cloud of dirt hardly airborne, son n mother and my gals were in and i was off again, hooting like a moose on heat. There used to be a Paediatric clinic at Ongata mall, and an instant later i pulled up, jumped out, scooped Gem from her mom and made a mad lounge into the clinic. Two seconds later, everbody who were with us , seventy or eighty strong, were jammed up into the tiny reception area.
The doctor took the boy, screaming instructions to his two nurses all the while the tall watchman was desparately trying to clear the room. Everbody was like “tutokeni jameni” but none was listening.
Here is what had happened as i gathered from the mum in all the hullabaloo. Gem, my son had been unwell…nothing unussual. Just a common cold. A little fever that came and went. He was supposed to be in bed resting. But when her sisters came calling, he forgot he was sick and got all excited and started playing around in the house. Then, out of the blue, he stopped, akakua stachuu, then corapsed, comatose.
This story was told by the mom to the doc. In short, he had convulsed. Total loss of consciousness, eyes open like…eyes completely open, without blinking hata ukiweka kidole in the eye, in short, he was half past gone.
The Doc administered two shots of i know not what. Gave hime a few minutes but no response. Then he administered another two on the inside thigh…said something about a major vein to the heart, and tgat, that had to bring him back by the minute. Ten minutes later, with no response, he grabbed my son, pushed him into my hands and Shouted “kimbia kenyatta, Bends, Kenyatta”
The hysteria in the room went haywire. My baby momma, almost lost her unborn.
I was in supa panic mode too but i delegated the gals to a friend who knew my place, jumped in the car and did a reverse turn the lengend of books. I was at maasai lodge road before my safety belt clicked.
As i slowed down for a bump that used to be at the base of the hill outside Bagathi universty, my two friends blocked the road with their cars. They wrenched me out, and one took the wheel. I jumped at the back with my son on my laps.
The next fifteen minutes were like two years to me. I was later told that my friend had flattened the 180km as we went down Carnival slope.
Getting to Kenyatta, before we could halt, i jumped out , racing like a Bison across the prairie down the halls screaming “Daktari, Daktari”. Nurses and orderies were on me like instantly trying to ply the boy from my hands but i held on until i saw some white lab courts and two pairs of Stethescopes. The two lady pediatricians worked like magic. No panic, very methodical. Meanwhile an hovering within earshot bleating out every info i could muster, including his favourite cartoon, his favourite dish, family history, why Gem and not any other name, everything.
Glory to God Almighty, Him only will i serve till the End, my son, in less than thirty minutes, he was joking with me and asking for his sisters. Thank God, and thanks you two Worthy Doctors.
We were then told that he had to be admitted for observation and further tests. Had i mentioned that his mom was days to her second born.
I had to be admitted with my son coz no way the mother would.
When we come back, the
[SIZE=16px] thresholds will be met.[/SIZE]

12 Likes

Una kijiji ya watoto na venye we uandika utoto apa

I hope you will edit the story when you come back…

Such stories make me not want to have children.

when was this coz ukipeleka mgonjwa KNH saa hizi probability yake ya kudedi is very high

Not necessarily true.

Mujamaa si unakuaga na utoto … hehe

he he he,mzee mijinga wachana na uncle mabenda

Ongea poa. Unaweza kuwa wewe ndiye Gem Ochuodho

Ukishapata mtoto ni very hard uanze kuadai wewe ni atheist. Ka @Atheismo ana wajunior anafaa atueleze venye scenario ka hii ya mabenda angehandle. Ka angesema “Nobody take the wheel”

[ATTACH=full]39059[/ATTACH]

Unajua kitu haiko kwa hii hekaya… This is unbecoming of you.

Several baby mommas. Every man’s accomplishment.
Congrats in them knowing each other and you live peacefully…

Not cool…

Desperate Times Calls for Desperate Measures.

Watu 80 kwa wasindikiza mtoto kwa emergency room ghafra ? Kwani walienda na mbukinya mbiri?

When you see many people like that providing support, you realize watu wana utu.

Alafu aka kula nurse alikua on duty usiku…

Hehehehehe, hapo sawa. Ambia “Mr. I drive like Sebastian Vettel” Mabenda aichonge ikuwe hekaya. Talanta iko!

Tulieni. I did say i will come back to meet the threshold hehe

[ATTACH=full]39117[/ATTACH]