Situationship

Copied

HUKU Kenya,
Let’s talk about joblessness, because this one is quietly killing men and breaking families.
You struggle through school. You pass exams. You get that degree or diploma everyone told you would “change your life.” Then you graduate and reality slaps you hard. No job. No direction. Endless tarmacking. You wake up every morning feeling useless, hopeless and ashamed. Some end up homeless, some end up stuck in towns pretending to be busy and some just slowly disappear inside themselves. This is a system that betrayed its people.

It’s not that Kenya cannot create jobs. It’s not that Kenyans lack ideas or intelligence. Our education system was never designed to create innovators or builders. It was designed to produce obedient workers , modern slaves trained to follow instructions, not to create industries. And now even those jobs don’t exist. You are trained for factories that are not there, skilled for industries that collapsed, qualified for opportunities that were never planned for you.

So we must ask the hard question: which factories is the government putting in place to absorb these trained youths?
Because the factories that once existed are gone. Mumias Sugar collapsed. Pan Paper in Webuye collapsed. Rift Valley Textiles collapsed before being revived in a limited form. Eveready Kenya shut down manufacturing. Cadbury exited. Colgate-Palmolive closed its Kenyan factory. Procter & Gamble shut down local operations. Tata Chemicals downsized heavily. ARM Cement collapsed. Kenya Fluorspar closed. Sameer Africa downsized. Nakumatt collapsed. Uchumi collapsed. Tuskys collapsed. These were not just companies, they were livelihoods, dignity and futures wiped out by high taxation, expensive electricity, policy inconsistency, corruption and a hostile business environment that chased investors away.

Yet today, the same government proudly announces that it is exporting youth to work as maids and watchmen in the Middle East. Many of these are university graduates. Where is our dignity? Is this what we are to the government? After years of schooling and sacrifice, the best vision offered is domestic labor abroad. Instead of making it possible to create jobs at home, policies are structured to suffocate local production and manufacturing.

And the economy is so bad you start thinking you are bad with money but you are not. You didn’t buy luxury food. You didn’t eat out. You just bought regular food that should be affordable. Most households now survive on ugali, sukuma wiki and githeri. If you are a bit privileged, you add eggs. If you are really stretching, you add a few pieces of nyama for soup not a feast, just flavor. And it’s not like people are eating three meals a day. Many are eating once, maybe twice. Tell me what this is if not economic suffocation.

Parents are stressed to the core as we speak, and we all know what stress does to the immunity. School fees are crushing. An ordinary working person can no longer afford a common public school in Nairobi. Children are going back to school to be trained into the same broken system ,graduating into joblessness, debt and submission. Parents are terrified, not because they don’t value education, but because they are watching it turn into a conveyor belt producing slaves instead of free, capable citizens.
And then they blame the youth for alcoholism. Like bruh :person_shrugging:t4:

Where exactly are young men supposed to channel their energy? Men used to leave home with purpose and come back with something for their families. Today, many leave home pretending to go to work, only to wander town all day, lie under unfruiting trees or sit in unfinished buildings, stomachs empty, minds heavy, rehearsing what lie they will tell their families when they return. Some only come home when everyone is asleep because shame is heavier than hunger. Graduates roasting maize by the roadside. Degree holders selling mutura. Brilliant minds reduced to survival mode, not because they failed, but because the system failed them.

Let’s kill another lie. Kenyans are not stupid. Kenyan minds are sharp. Kenyans were among the largest labor forces used to train artificial intelligence systems globally. That is why work submitted by Kenyans abroad is often flagged as “AI-level.” The intelligence is here. The problem is opportunity. And those in power know it. A hungry, hopeless youth is easier to control with handouts and bare minimum promises. Hunger is political. Joblessness is political.

This pain cuts men where it hurts most. When a man cannot provide, cannot plan, cannot protect, cannot dream, something inside him breaks. Depression doesn’t always look like tears. Sometimes it looks like silence, anger, alcohol or disappearing. An idle man is not harmless. An idle man is a walking bomb.

I think it is time we stop waiting for salvation from the same systems that benefit from our suffering. It is time we start looking for working solutions. Maybe we come together, pool resources, bring in serious investors and revive our factories ourselves. Each year we revive two industries in different regions or countries until every country has something solid to stand on. No one is coming to save us wakuu.Vile kunaenda, It is time we save ourselves. Kenya has great minds.

Kama hujachangankia hii Petition pls, pitia huku. Finya link

Angie :heart: