It’s like majority of the cases ni chimpanzees kuingia kwa forest. Sijaona single mother by choice kwa hii gumzo.
Solution iko hapa.
Bila hii, the situation will only worsen as time goes by.[ATTACH=full]443923[/ATTACH]
But our grandparents and parents were in monogamous marriages. It’s only the senior chief great grandparents who were able to marry more. As you can see finances are a problem if you have no land to till. If raising kids from one woman is a problem how do you manage from more?
Anyway this thing is not reversing especially with so much teenage pregnancy. Kwanzaa during the covid years. So let’s get used to it. Single mothers are here to stay.
Children from single mothers bring social issues to society. When you hear president commenting about it, know that the government is aware. It is brought by girls m dating men with money in their early twenties. But rich man is subjective. Bodaboda guys are rich to rural girls while corporate guys to town. But a guy with a good job and car can make more than twenty girls single mother but it will be difficult even to marry two as wives. But these girls forget rich people go broke. I thinking government will have registration soon. Wait. If it dealt with changaa, smoking in public and plastic bags. Wait for it
Strictly enforce child support or welfare. Since a government can’t regulate sex.
The article in the nation said that over a million single mothers are aged between 10 and 19.Meaning that alot of men are having sex with minors. That’s easy to regulate. Give a few men life sentences and word will go round that having sex with a minor is a dangerous venture.
I think your analysis points to something else, poverty. A rich man can make 20 women in their early twenties single mothers this means that they don’t have an income so their only ticket to life is to nab a rich guy and in a country where 40% of the population is unemployed and the youth in the population is 70%, we have a big problem. When I was in my early twenties I was already working. When you have your own money as a woman you have options. It’s women who have no income or have Nominal income who feel the need to trap rich men with kids. I know a woman like that and she had to get a son with her sponyo to hold on to him, luckily her strategy worked. I only realised that she got the kid to hold on to him when she told me that she was going to get an abo.tion if she ever found herself pregnant with him ever again. So she was having the kid so that she could have access to his income. So that is how it works for poor girls. Men are a source of income. You can see that Uhurus daughter who has money oozing from her pores isn’t in any hurry to get pregnant but to most women in Kenya, having a child is a way to acess income they don’t have.
I think the societal problems come more from the poverty than anything else. So high level of poverty is the numero uno problem.
So you are already poor, your poverty eradication strategy which is getting kids with a wealthy guy backfires and sinks you deeper into poverty.
The way I see it, single mothers who have money and also are mature and actually planned to have this children, it wasn’t an accident or from a failed marriage or relationship do even better than kids from an abusive two parents home. I think this issue needs breaking down. Like they study kids from teenage single moms.They also study kids from single moms who are divorced, single Moms who are older and have a good income, single moms who are widows. They study the outcome of the kids separately. When we lump every single mother together we can not get solutions. Personally I have seen some kids from single mother homes who have surpassed kids from two parents home by far. To my understanding what matters is the stability of the mother based on age and income of course if the woman is depressed bcz of a failed marriage or relationship she may not be able to offer emotional stability for her kids. Also financial stability is very important. Most single mothers can’t afford it, it stresses them and stresses their kids also. I’m going to look into various research done.
They are not going to rich men because of poverty but because of culture created by media and politicians. The sponsor culture then came baby mama culture. True people need to be jailed for having sex with minors. For example some years back there was culture of kikuyu women killing their husband. Then there is teacher who was jailed for that. We have heard no cases since then. Hata hi ya single mothers. Ngonjea tu
It does not matter if there’s a sponyo culture if women have their own money. This shit only works where theres a huge disparity between wealthy older men and young women. I mean that this is even sipping to men where young jobless men are kept by older women. In black community in US there’s nothing like sponyo culture. Most women have kids before they hit 20 with equally broke men. And that’s the biggest factor in Kenya as well. Over a million single mothers aged 10 - 19 is too high. Sponyo related pregnancies can not reach such colossal numbers so this child pregnancy thing is the real crisis in this country that the government needs to take head on. Men should be full in jails. Anyone impregnates a minor including a fellow minor should be in jail for at least 10 years btw I saw something like this where majority of Kenyan men in jail were there bcz of having sex with minors. If government takes an aggressive stance on this we will see a big reduction though alot of damage happened during covid.
This is so depressing to watch I can’t imagine what their parents are going through
Shida ya hawa wanawake is that they are attempting to address the symptom instead of the cause. Clearly that hasn’t worked in the US with the black community. And u expect it to work huku kwetu with the broken systems we have. Raise ur daughters well n u won’t have to worry about the menace. Otherwise mimba zitazidi.