Kwetu ocha its next to hizo artificial forests and like @gashwin says a lot of wood toppings are there for the taking. My parents still use firewood to cook despite having gas in the kitchen. The only upgrade is that new energy saving jiko. So that wood is basically free.
There are other options that are affordable
1-Mike Reynold’s Earthships…simiti na tyres na machupa
http://kirknielsen.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/Earthship-Exterior-4.jpg
2-Nader Khalili’s Superadobe…soil+simiti kidogo++sengenge+magunia
3.Compressed stabilised earth blocks (makiga/Auroville Auram3000/Matt-one)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYZnpkqAGuE
basically in this day and age students in remote have no business learning under a tree …the cost of a ‘special wheelbarrow’ from Luyhaland is enough to purchase a Compressed stabilised earth brick press machine alafu watu wajipange upande wa mchanga na labour na simiti kidogo.
Tire, glass n cements seems expensive but I have to admit looks good. I know kids will find it fun to live in such a house but not me. It would make a nice gazebo though.
Hiyo ya earth press I agree fully.
yes, the same schools buy for firewood. i wouldn’t know how much they would cost but it can’t be much. KFS policy on fuelwood “collection” would help…
Earthships are labour intensive but if you have time to rummage for used tyres and bottles and build the entire thing you can do it…
earth homes arent popular because a contractor loses his margins…where theres no money theres no motive sadly…me my house no one is going to fuck me over during construction.
perfect construction for small projects, resorts , bush camp hotels etc…costly on the labour part though…its similar to earthbag type of construction.
I was hoping to get you back here from your busy schedule and it worked.
If i ever get a bush home like this, i may as well retire. This would be perfect as a getaway home just to relax.
https://www.kcet.org/sites/kl/files/atoms/article_atoms/www.kcet.org/arts/artbound/images/Cal-Earth_5.jpg
Awesome mancave
Engineer nyam,hii miti muchwa ikishambulia hio nyumba kwisha.
Pamba lorry ya kuni kaimosi forest ni 8000 omwami. Mchwa unatibu mbao kama kplc yaani unachemsha na dawa. Mchwa Haiwes karibia
Eucalptus firedwood go about 25K per 12 ton lorry in Nyandarua (15K if bought direct from farmer). Wouldn’t termites be a major issue if the wood is not treated. Lookup ‘ferrocement’, its much cheap.